Pre-Registration, BSc Adult Nursing Students Birmingham City University pledge

With great thanks to Claire Wilcox-Tolley (Senior Teaching Fellow), Birmingham City University for inviting Tommy to give two talks to Pre-Registration, BSc Adult Nursing Students.

Tommy-bcu

Claire and Tommy met a few months back at a leadership awards event in Birmingham where Tommy was the guest speaker and Claire then kindly invited Tommy to speak at the university.

Tommy-bcu 1
There are many people to thank for arranging such a brilliant day: Carol Doyle (Head of School / Professor of Nurse Education) & Gerri Nevin (Associate Professor / Head of Department Pre-Qualifying Healthcare Practice), as well as the Module Coordinators for Transition to Qualified Practitioner, Claire Wilcox-Tolley (Senior Teaching Fellow) and Bernie St.Aubyn (Senior Lecturer).

Thanks to all the staff for their help on the day – especially Rachel Denning (Visiting Lecturer), Claire Flatt (Assistant Lecturer), Bridget Malkin (Senior Lecturer).

And last but by no means least the wonderful students

Thank you from all the team at DCV for a wonderful day and the inspiring pledges below.

In the weeks following Tommy’s talk the staff and students created their own pledge trees to showcase the pledges they made. See the amazing leaves for the pledge tree below.

Birmingham

Birmingham 1

Team DCV

 

I pledge to treat every patient like one of my own family members.

Hannah Grapper, Student Nurse

 

I pledge to always try and make my patients smile and feel well looked after.

Student nurse

 

I pledge to always say hello my name is…. And to ask my patients 3 things, what matters to them and to implement them.

Helen, Student nurse.

 

I pledge to bring joy, happiness to others throughout my day.

 

I pledge to always look at the person behind, the condition and encourage others to do the same, especially with patients who have dementia.

Cassandra, Student nurse.

 

I pledge to deliver a high standard of care to every person I meet in my life of work, nursing career with kindness and compassion.

Charmaine Lucinda Richards, Student nurse.

 

I pledge to always put first what my matters to patients first.

 

I pledge to support families with dementia family members, make sure you see the person, not the diagnosis.

Emma Turrell, Student nurse.

 

I pledge to listen to you, to comfort you, and help you understand this confusing world we live in, always! To help in any way I can throughout this part in your life.

Zoe Skipp, Student nurse NHS.

 

I pledge to listen to each patient I came across, introduce myself, ask t hem what they want and how they would like me to help. To provide me best care for that individual as we are all different and want different things.

Abi, BCU RAF student nurse 3th year

 

I pledge to always take into consideration a person’s background and their lives. Never say someone is challenging.

Tara Tapley, Student nurse

 

I pledge to treat all individuals with kindness and give them time to express their fears. I wing treat all individuals the same way I cared for my grandad (vascular dementia)

Yasmine Mowais, Student nurse at BCU

 

My pledge is to do my work with kindness and love throughout my life.

Rachel Laking, BCU 3rd year nursing student

 

I pledge to always listen to their love story.

 

Student nurse

 

I pledge to never stop caring, to listen to hear.

Claire Wilcox, Senior teaching fellow, BCU

 

I pledge to take every opportunity to make a good difference in everyone’s lives based on what and who matter to them.

Donald Amoah, Student nurse

 

I pledge to comfort people in distress, listening, being patient and continue to treat people as a person not a number.

Victoria Jaye, Student nurse, HCA

 

I pledge to be a great nurse and put the car of my patient first, to respect my patient dignity.

 

I pledge to be a great nurse, who is passionate and compassionate.

 

I pledge to care for and understand the person as a person and not the illness. Listen, empathic and understand the behaviour behind the emotion.

Pearl Oguaghamba, Birmingham city university.

 

I pledge to value every human being I come across.

Laura Toovey-Cook, Student nurse, BCU. Year 3

 

I pledge to care for patients with compassion and treat them as individuals.

 

 

I pledge to sow seeds of love, kindness, patience and understanding.

Gerda Swart, Student nurse, BCU

 

I pledge to always find out what and who matters to all my patients, providing the best care possible at all time.

Selina Lee, Student nurse BCU

 

I pledge to treat every patient with respect and dignity as my own parent.

Ade Alayande, Student nurse. BCU

 

I pledge to put a smile on my patients every day.

Anastasia Ageeva, Student nurse

 

I pledge to find out more about the people I care for and to be the best nurse I can be!

Laura T., Student nurse

 

I pledge to help others to be more aware of patients’ dignity, with dignity love!

Bethan West, Student nurse BCU

 

I pledge to dedicate my life caring for the life of others, no matter who they are, where they are from, or what they were done, if they need my help in any nursing way or form. I will help them to the road to recovery.

Sioned Watkin, 3rd year student nurse BCU

 

I pledge to spend the whole of my nursing carer trying my best for all my patients! I will spend every day empowering those who are struggling to empower themselves. I will be promoting independence offering security and comfort, and aiming for at least one smile a day!

Aimee Edwards, Student nurse 3rd year BCU

 

I pledge to listen to every person that I care for and see everyone as unique as they are and not just as patient.

 

 

I pledge is to spend more time with patients and be a good listener.

 

 

I pledge to think about relatives (carers as well) as well as the patients I am looking after.

Jonathan Mullinger, Student nurse BCU

 

I pledge to take the time to think about the little thing that will make patient carers feel as though the can cope, and are respected for what they do?

Demi Evenett, Student nurse, BCU

 

I pledge to take the time to treat people with the respect that I want to be treated with.

Clair Harper, Student, BCU

 

I pledge to always take the time to listen to patients, that few minutes could mean everything to them.

Lily Collett, 3rd year student nurse

 

I pledge to be the best nurse I can be, being the voice of my patients, being the best carer, I can be.

Lorna Babb, BCU

 

I pledge to be the best nurse I can be, to be kind, considerate a non-judgemental. To always make time for my patients to reassure them.

Kirsty Martin, Student nurse

 

I pledge to always remember why I wanted to become a nurse, to have it at the heart of my everyday practice and to make a difference.

Frances Giles, Student nurse

 

I pledge to be the best nurse I can be to treat every patient as an individual and to get to know them as a person. I ante to be a positive, happy memory for my patients.

Sophie Yarwood, Student nurse at BCU

 

I pledge to be the best nurse I can be, to get to know my patient and give chose.

Sabina Sinclair, BCU student nurse

 

I pledge to be part of patients’ love story, to see past the medical condition and see the patients themselves. Improving dementia care, make patients smile!

Rachelle Hammond, Student nurse.

 

I pledge to stop and ask what matters to a patient.

Sarah, Student nurse

 

I pledge to ensure I and others continue to give dementia patients the time and patience they deserve.

Amy Laing, Student nurse. BCU

 

I pledge to make every effort to learn about the person behind the dementia, about their lives, dislikes, carers and families and talk about the things that matter to them.

Kellie P., Student nurse. BCU

 

I pledge to respect the rights and maintain the dignity of the patients I care for now and always.

Anita A., Student nurse

 

I pledge to treat every patient as individuals meeting their needs, maintaining dignity and respect at all time.

Naeema A., Student nurse

 

I pledge to always care for my patients in same way I would for my own mama or dad.

Lyla, Student nurse

 

I pledge to treat each of my patients how I would like to be treated, and how they want to be treated.

 

 

I pledge to treat every person how I could like to be treated, to be the smile they need, the ear to listen and the hand to hold.

Rosie Roe, Student nurse, BCU

 

I pledge to care for other people and to play the very best part I can to make a difference in someone’s life.

Denise, BCU

 

I pledge to remember that every single person has a difference story, experience and feelings about where they are.

Eliza, Student nurse BCU

 

I pledge to car for every patient with respect and kindness and compassion. I will thrive how to build a therapeutic relationship with patient and build trust.

K. Mahama, BCU

 

I pledge to listen and empathise with patients and their family and friends, at them most vulnerable hours of their lives.

Scarlett, Student nurse. BCU

 

I pledge to try my best to always see the sparkle, hear the story and share the love that can be felt from all I meet.

Emma H, Student nurse

 

I pledge to always look beyond a person’s medical condition and listen to them and what matters most to them as a person.

Lynsey Collins, Student nurse

 

I pledge to make a difference to every patient I care for, treating them as an individual and not just another patient.

 

 

I pledge to see the person not the condition I will get to know my patients and how they would like to be cared for.

Simone, Student nurse

 

I pledge to always ask patients about their lives and find out about them as a person, and make them feel as comfortable as possible and give them as much normality as possible.

Liz Davies, Student nurse

 

I pledge to take the time to speak to patients and their family/ carers to find out what matters to them to make t heir care is suited their needs.

Bianca Headloma-Willamson

 

I pledge to see every patient as a unique individual understanding that every person has different beliefs or needs, taking the time to listen to family and friends and giving as much support I can offer.

S. Spence, BCU, student nurse.

 

I pledge to use Tommy W. as an example to all students.

Rachel, BCU

 

I pledge to teach and improves upon each student nurse and nursing colleague the importance of valuing every patient’s story, to ask them what matters to them, dairy what matters, listening to what matters.

Rachel D., BCU

 

I pledge to be the very best I can in caring for people with dementia to make a difference.

Sandra J., BCU

 

I pledge to continue teaching about dignity.

Amanda Andrews, Senior teaching fellow. BCU

 

I pledge to continue to see the person behind the condition or the situation or the behaviour.

 

 

I pledge to be an advocate to those who are not able to voice their views/concerns. To listen more, get the appropriate help for the vulnerable patients and their careers and loved ones.

 

 

I pledge to support, listen and treat people who experience dementia as individuals with respect and act as their advocate at all time.

Joyline M., Student nurse BCU

 

I pledge to donate money for the treatment of dementia.

Caroline T., Student nurse BCU

 

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges
One comment on “Pre-Registration, BSc Adult Nursing Students Birmingham City University pledge
  1. […] Pre-Registration, BSc Adult Nursing Students Birmingham City University pledge […]

Leave a Reply

