Northumbria Trust Pledge to Make a Difference

It was a great pleasure for Tommy to be invited to The Northumbria Band 5 Nursing Conference on 28 June 2017.  We would like to thank Christine Platton, Associate Nurse Director of Northumbria Healthcare Trust, Marie McKeown, Practice Placement Facilitator and Ann Innes-Smith, Organisational Development Programme Director for inviting Tommy to the conference and an inspirational day.

Tommy has visited Northumbria on a few occasions, which you can read about here

Thanks to everyone who attended the session at the conference and who made a pledge to make a difference.

 

I pledge to hear and listen to people’s stories! To be as passionate about who and what matters to people as Tommy.

Abbie Davison – Community Nurse

 

I pledge to take the idea of the “what matters to you tree” back to senior staff/matron at critical care NSECH with the aims of it being implemented on the unit!

Abbey Jackson – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to always look for and include the carers.

Kate Maughan – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to listen to people’s stories and see them beyond their diagnosis.

Robert Showk – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to always work with my patients and their loved ones and find out what makes them individuals and what matters most to them. I pledge to make a difference.

Rebecca Brown – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to always remain caring, compassionate and have understanding to make every contact count, to help others maintain their own independence, choice, individually. To always see a patient/carer/family member as an individual no labels, condition, another’s view or perspective. Just as an amazing individual needing extra support or some to listen or just sit with.

Stacey Houston – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to be the daughter my mam deserves, to the end x

J.Grassler

 

I pledge to find out more about people as a person not as a patient. Introduce hello my name is info into team’s notes.

Kirsty Mathewson – Community Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to be as inspirational as “Tommy”

Hilary Groom

 

I pledge to always listen and learn the stories of my patients their families and carers and advocate when needed.

Beth Shepherdson – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to develop the concept of “Golden Hour” for matrons and clinical teams.

Elaine Henderson – Interim Deputy Director of Nursing

 

I pledge to listen to people with dementia and try to learn their stories. To try to make time to make a difference to one person at a time.

Sara Temple – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to always see the person as the person that they are. Treat the patient as I or my family members would want to be treated. Be like the D.N that helped Tommy Whitelaw and his mum.

Deborah – RGN

 

I pledge to care for people with dementia holistically and imagine the person they once were.

Chris Morgan – Staff Nurse

 

If I meet anyone with dementia I will be kind and as helpful as I can to them.

Denise Sales – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to empower those with dementia and listen.

N.Lannen – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to keep listening and understanding people’s concerns in end of life care.

Helen Walker – Registered Nurse

 

I pledge to make sure that all my patients will feel safe and not scared all the time when they are in a different environment.

Imelda Vergara – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to make all of my patients feel special.

Kate Lowden – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to explore and cascade importance of small and the comfort of familiar smell.

Pauline Stewart – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to take time to listen and talk through my patients fears.

Kat Hall – Children’s Community Nurse

 

I pledge to listen to and learn my patient’s stories and always recognise the importance of the little things.

Melissa Davison – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to always include my patient and their loved ones in their care and aim to include what matters to them within every aspect of care.

Samantha Nye – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to take the time to know peoples loves stories. To always ask what matters and who matters.

Laney Fitzpatrick – Community Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to look deeper past the dementia diagnosis towards the patient themselves.

Michelle Middleton – Community Nurse

 

I pledge to always have a kind, caring understanding ear and voice.

Wendy Soulsby – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to understand, care, respect and listen to patients and treat and love them as individuals.

Bernadette Redpath – Staff Nurse

 

I pledge to become a voice for those lost in their way. To help with reliving their love story, to learn what makes them feel happy and safe, becoming part of that love story.

Kerri Mitchell – Nurse

 

I pledge to remember why I started nursing every day.

Sharon Foster – Reg Nurse

 

I pledge despite time constraints, spend time with parents, listening to their concerns and give advice when needed.

Louise Kennedy – Mental Health Nurse

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

