First pledge of Dementia Awareness Week

Pledge WKG

It’s three months since I joined the Dementia Carer Voices team. I’m enjoying working here; it’s great working with the team and learning about how to support people with dementia and their families.

Now I have been settling into my new role for a little while and have had the privilege and opportunity to read a large number of the pledges people have made in the publication I am putting together with the rest of the DCV team. I have also attended a number of talks with Tommy and had a chance to hear his moving and inspiring story first hand.

To mark the start of Dementia Awareness Week, I have been thinking about what I want to pledge to do to make a difference to the lives of people with dementia, their families and carers.

Please see below for my pledge:

“I pledge to raise awareness of the issues facing people with dementia, their families and carers. To always see the person and not just the condition in the work that I do.”

William #DAW2017

Posted in Events

Leave a Reply

