Dementia Carer Voices attend Focus on Dementia Conference

On the 10th May, ALLIANCE Director, Irene Oldfather, Project Engagement Lead, Tommy Whitelaw and Policy and Information Intern William Griffiths attended Focus on Dementia’s conference at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow.

Tommy and William manned our stand and engaged with lots of people about the work of Dementia Carer Voices and the ALLIANCE. We were visited there by, among many others, Tom McCarthy from Health Improvement Scotland and the team from Hatton Lea Care Home that Tommy visited last month.

Hatton Lea - Plaza   

We brought the DCV pledge tree on which people wrote reflections about what caring a person with dementia means to them. Please see below for some of the inspiring pledges we received on the day.

pledge cards - Crown Plaza

Irene spoke at the ‘on the couch’ session about the importance of person centred care, and shared some reflections on what barriers carers face in providing high quality care.

Irene - FOD

It was a good day, and great to meet many unpaid carers, people with dementia and policy professionals on the day.

Take some time to read the inspiring pledges below.

Thanks team DCV 🙂

 

I pledge to be going to look at how the ALLIANCE can work with NHS Lothian.

 

I pledge to ensure that we work to look after to explore the potential of every day, and emerging technologies to make a difference to health and wellbeing of carers.

Sandra S.

Tec. Scotland and Alzheimer Scotland.

 

I pledge to focus on the person not the condition.

 

I pledge to be an effective agent of change, and make a positive difference to all affected by dementia.

 

I pledge to celebrate at every opportunity the value of my patients with dementia.

 

I pledge to bring a bit of dementia friendly communities into my village and raise awareness of dementia in local primary schools.

 

I pledge to have my aim to place people with dementia at the centre of all decisions about their care, taking into account their wishes through interactions with the person, their relatives and carers.

 

I pledge to continue to focus on keeping dementia an issue within the wider community.

 

I pledge  not to be overwhelmed some times by it. I might to talking to a friend about my husband and suddenly I realise I am speaking about my husband it is humbling disease.

 

I pledge to continue to support my staff in delivering person centred care.

 

I pledge to do dementia friends training.

 

I pledge that Age Scotland’s early stage dementia will continue to raise awareness of the sign and symptoms of dementia and the benefits of early diagnosis.

 

I pledge to continue to work for carers and people with dementia and their carers. Advocating for them when needed.

 

I pledge that with my family, husband and two sons, dad and mum in-law, all of us will become dementia friends.

 

I pledge to make a difference listen more at work/home with friends and strangers.

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

