Pledges from Northumbria University

Big thanks to Sue Tiplady, Senior Lecturer, Pre-registration Adult Nursing and all the team at Northumbria University – Faculty of Health and Life Sciences for kindly inviting Tommy to speak to students who attend the University, colleagues and friends who support the university and students.

The day was truly inspiring and we would like to thank all for the wonderful pledges below .

We look forward to following the story of the staff, students and pledges.

Thank you from all the team at #DCV

 

On behalf of the Department of Nursing, Midwifery and Health, I would just like to express our gratitude for your kindness in taking time to come and speak with our students, service users, staff and external partners. The afternoon was a huge success with everyone leaving uplifted and motivated to making a pledge to make a difference. You are a true inspiration.  Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when we will have our pledge tree on display, this is my pledge.

Sue Tiplady, Senior Lecturer – Pre-registration Adult Nursing

 

I pledge to get to know the patient, beyond the illness and ask what matters to you.

Wendy Rooney- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to always raise awareness of dementia help students understand our patient’s stories.

Michelle- Northumbria University.

 

I pledge to find out about patients, not about their illness but about them as a person, who they are and who they were.

Laura R. -Student Nurse, Northumbria Uni.

 

I pledge to ensure the importance of kindness of every lecture and seminar practical. To give kindness to patients, services user and families a fellow staff.

Claire D.- Northumbria University.

 

I pledge to make sure I give the best care possible to all patients with dementia and make sure they feel safe and looked other.

Antonia D. – Adult nursing/ Northumbria Uni.

 

I pledge to ensure make my students understand the importance of seeing patients I care for as persons. Each with their unique story and needs, fears, also, that they may not have the answers but being there with the patient care in their hour of need is invaluable.

Helen M. -Lecturer.

 

I pledge to take the time to get to know the person I am caring for, I will also look for the people close to them and try to help them too.

Scot Ferguson. – Student nurse. Northumbria Uni.

 

I pledge never to treat a patients/ college/ stranger with disregard, as a statistic, a health condition or an inconvenience care, listen, take interest as it just might make that person’s day everyone matters!

Katie Wright. – Northumbria University. Nursing Student.

 

I pledge to be that nurse to ask questions and find ways of making the best days of some one’s lives. Listen, to comfort them, and be the best nurse I can be. Everyone is something greater that just a condition.

Laura M. – Student Nurse Northumbria Uni.

 

I pledge to go to do far as I can to stop anybody feeling lonely, scared and as though they have no one to turn to.

Georgia Sheldon- Student Adult Nurse.

 

I pledge to always treat anyone in my care with dignity, respect and most in portly, kindness. To try and make a difference to their day to day lives no matter how small an influence I may have today as a health care assistant and in the future as a qualified mental health nurse.

Emma Robinson. – Student Mental Health Nurse.

 

I pledge to continues to care for others, nothing makes me feel better than making someone happy or just feel reassured knowing someone is here to help.

Stacey Jarwick- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to learn who my patients are to find time and listen to their lives and stories.

Lyndsay Cutting. – Student life.

 

I pledge to always provide person-centred care and get to know the person behind the condition. I will always ask what I can do to help.

Amie Brown- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to make a difference to people lives and always ask someone what matters to them and always make sure people I meet never feel alone or scared.

Annabel P. – Student Adult Nurse.

 

I pledge to always explore what and who matters to those individuals who have dementia as well as those who care for them. Their light not and never will go out.

Holly Byram- Northumbria University.

 

I pledge to talk with the person.

 

I pledge to always see the true person (not the condition) Everyone is loved and important to someone else.

Tanya Barley-Stewart- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to ask what matters to every individual I care for and their loved ones. Find out their stories and celebrate that with them.

Emily Belton- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to always take the time to chat to patient families to reveal more of my patient’s story and identify if they are all coping together.

Haylie S. – Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to look past the illness condition, disease and instead look at the individual and make a difference to that individual through caring for them first, not their diagnosis and love nursing.

Gaby Cook- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to find out as much as I can about any one I care for. I pledge to make them feel safe and cared.

Louise Thompson- Student Adult Nurse.

 

I pledge to be patient and kind to always remember people have lives, don’t judge by their clinical presentation.

 

I pledge to take the time to learn everyone’s story, to always be a caring and compassionate nurse and remember the little things matters!

Jen Vickers- Student nurse.

 

I pledge to listen to all the love stories I can.

Rachael Clark – Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to make a difference to patients’ lives within dementia and be caring and compassionate and to also support families.

Vicky Wallace – Student nurse.

 

I pledge to spread kindness, caring.   I pledge to spread and give the information about Tommy Whitelaw’s and live his heart.

Cathy B. – Associate Professor Northumbria University.

 

I pledge to look at everyone as an individual and care for everyone as they deserve! I pledge to become that nurse that is remembered by the right reasons.

Amy Millar – Student Nurse NU.

 

I pledge to find out what matters and who matters to every person that I care for.

Ellie C. Student Nurse NU.

 

I pledge to remind myself, my colleagues and students that small things matter the most, find that it is an honour to serve.

Angela P. – Senior Lecture NU.

 

I pledge to always put the person before any condition and ask what matters to you and who matter to you and to do what matters and listen to their story.

Amanda McAllen- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to make sure every patient I meet, I understand their options and choices available to them and feels comfortable to ask anything they want, and to everything in my power to help.

Mirren Freeman – Student Nurse/ Support Worker.

 

I pledge to treat every person I care for as an individual and really make the support to find out their story.

Ashely Dickey – Student mental Health Nurse.

 

I pledge to keep making students to understand Dementia care and compassion.

Barbara S. – Volunteer.

 

I pledge to be kind to someone each day.

Susan Small.

 

I pledge to recognise each patients’ individual matters and to ensure I tell their carers that they are doing a great job, making a difference.

Dian – Student Nurse/ NU.

 

I pledge to always see the person not the condition and bed number and to give person and family centred-care which is flexible and relevant to them

Jill D. – Student nurse.

 

I pledge to learn and listen to patients to find out about them and the best way to help them.

Philip Owens- NU.

 

I pledge to always listen and look beyond the illness to see the person and always show kindness and compassion to the patient’s families and carers I meet the hope that I might help everything seem less scary.

Angela Telford- Student Nurse NU.

 

I pledge to try to be like the district nurse and make a difference in people lives.

Sophie Liddle – Student Nurse NU.

 

I pledge to see the person and not the condition, to be there.

Lorraine MacGregor. – Student Nurse NU.

 

I pledge to understand my patients holistically, their lives which makes patients a person. I pledge to make that person feel valued.

 

I pledge to never ignore any individual, to hear their story and to ensure everyone stays their own person. I pledge to never stop fighting for the want and need.

 

I pledge to always take the time to find out what matters to people and include this information when speaking to others professionals not just medical diagnosis.

Catherine Burn – Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to maintain my caring nature throughout my career and personal life, to make sure no one individual I meet ever feels alone, scared or lost within their own situation, to remember how good it feels each time when I make a difference in someone’s life.

Jessica Greenwood – Student mental health nurse (2nd year)

 

I pledge to open my eyes and may ears but most important open my heart.

Marsha Langley – Student Nurse, NU.

 

I pledge to treat the person, not the diagnosis.

Bethany Robson- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to always show kindness and compassion to everyone I meet to listen, learn about them.

Nichola Donnelly – Student Nurse/ NU.

 

I pledge to make every contact count and make a difference every day.

Glenda Cooh- Professor of Nursing/ NU.

 

I pledge to do everything in my power to ensure my patients know that I care for them and about them. I want to help them feel safe, fell valued and feel loved.

Jemma James- 2nd year student nurse/ NU.

 

I pledge to give every patient the time they deserve.

Megan Bell- Student Nurse/ NU.

 

I pledge to always see the person, to put them fires not the dementia. Find out their love story.

Mrs. Michelle P. – Student nurse/ NU.

 

I pledge find out at least I think about every patient I treat to, before I start talking about their treatment.

Sam James- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to make sure that the people I care for, their family and friends feel like they matter and find out what matter to them.

Samantha Walker. – Student nurse, NU.

 

I pledge not to ignore the small things.

Keith F. – Northumbria University.

 

I pledge to share a smile and listen.

Gemma S. – Northumbria University.

 

I pledge that every door I walk through I will be there to make a difference. Most importantly play the best part I can within care.

Abbie Palmer- Student nurse/NU.

 

I pledge to never walk by, never turn a blind eye and never to be too busy to maintain hopes dignity, I also pledge to see the person and not the condition.

Nicholas Farrell – Student mental health nurse.

 

I pledge to always make sure I ask my patients what they want and what is important to them. Remember my patients come first, my patient is the reason I am here.

Beth Dobinson – Student Nurse, NU.

 

I pledge to care for every individual and their family/ care with dedication kindness and compassion to make a positive impact during difficult times.

Connie Davidson- Student nurse 3 year.

 

I pledge to take the time to listen, understand and get to know the person behind the condition.

Hather Roe- Student Nurse.

 

I pledge to take de time to listen and learn something about my patients.

Zoe Titler – Student Nurse/ NU.

 

I pledge to always know something about the people I am caring about, that will improve my relationship and their comfort and their story.

Sheehan – Student nurse.

 

I pledge to look past the diagnosis, to always show kindness to the individual that I meet and to be there to listen to their story. I believe a small act of kindness can go a very long way.

Sarah Jane Fogerty – Student nurse (2nd year, NU)

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

