Glasgow University School of Nursing Pledge to Make a Difference

Thanks to Jane Joy, Senior Lecturer at Glasgow University School of Nursing for inviting Tommy to speak to 1st Year Nursing Students on 20th March 2017.

Tommy has the great honour of speaking at the University a few times before including being a guest speaker at Staff Nurse Development Days.

We are proud of this ongoing relationship with the University.  Last Year we also worked  in Partnership with Tommy, ALLIANCE Director, Irene Oldfather, Jane and the University on the letters we receive from people living with dementia, families and carers.  You can view the published report below or a download free summary.

A joint article has been published between the ALLIANCE and the University of Glasgow, based on the letters Project Engagement Lead Tommy Whitelaw collected from carers across Scotland. These letters have been analysed by Jane Joy and Diane Willis from the University of Glasgow, with the results of their study now available:

Examining Dementia Caregivers’ Experiences, Link to FULL published Article The International Journal of Aging and Society, Volume 7, Issue 2, pp.59-72, November 10, 2016. By Jane Joy, Thomas James Whitelaw, Irene Oldfather and Diane Willis.

 

Thank you Jane and the wonderful students for another brilliant day and the wonderful pledges below.

From all the team #DCV

I pledge to NEVER let anyone’s diagnosis of dementia influence or override how I view them as a person.  Everyone’s far too important and special for that.

Tammy Hudson – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to always fill in the getting to know me cards and sit with a person to discuss these things.  NEVER refer to a person with dementia as “demented”.

Olivia Askew – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to listen to people’s stories.  To take time to ask what matters to them.  To try and help ease people`s fear.

Deborah Cloke – Student Nurse University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to spend even if it is a small amount of my time specifically to patients and their loved ones in order to make sure that they feel loved.

Julie – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to always look for and find the person that I am caring or underneath the illness and the fear, and I will do all I can to help them continue to be the amazing person that they are.

Valerie Sinclair – Student Nurse Glasgow University

 

I pledge that I will be a nurse that makes a difference and someone says that their life was better because I was in it. That no matter how hard nursing gets I never give up.

 

I pledge to take time during work/placements to find out more about the actual patient, their life, what matters to them and not only be concerned with caring for their physical ailments.

 

I pledge to continue the story of Joan Whitelaw and my own experiences of when that special someone’s done something small to make a huge difference.  Do whatever I can to make people feel less scared.

Demi McGeady – Student Nurse Glasgow University

 

I pledge to look past medical diagnosis and see the real patient to not ignore people who just need someone to talk to.

Euan Macintosh – Student Nurse Glasgow University

 

I promise to never cut corners with care.

Jessica Watson – Student Nurse Glasgow University

 

I pledge to take the time with everyone to make sure that they know there is someone who carers and will listen.

Mollie – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to make sure that I always remember to show kindness to others and let them know that they are loved and are never alone.

Tazmin Alison –  Student Nurse Glasgow University

 

If someone is scared I will sit and listen to them and do anything I can to help reassure them.

Hannah – University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to take the time to find out more about my patients and their family.

Megan – Uni of Glasgow Student Nurse

 

I pledge to take the time to view the patient as a person with a story rather than a person with an illness.

Shona Gilmour – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to always make my nan proud and care for all my patients with the love and compassion I would give to her.

Ellie Cooper – BNI University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to always put the person before the condition.

Cameron Easton – BNI University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to NEVER walk past someone who has been incontinent and hope someone else sees them.

Reid Fraser Candlish – Student Nurse @ University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to always see my patients as a person first and foremost.

Ewan Thomson – Nursing Student UofG

 

I pledge whenever I meet a patient I will find out about them not their illness.

Ross Campbell – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to take the time to listen and get to know people and their life stories.  To really provide person centred care.

Paul Robertson – Student Nurse Glasgow University

 

I pledge to try my best at all times to make a difference to someone’s life no matter how small.

Hannah Munro – Student Nurse University of Glasgow 

 

I pledge to make everyone’s day better and happier.

Rosie – Student Nurse University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to always be kind and help both patients and everyone I meet on my journey as a nurse.  To always try and remain positive and bring hope and happiness in all aspects of my life.

Molly Pagan

 

I pledge to provide the best care to all patients I look after my career and treat them with the same respect that I would like members of my family to be treated and to spend time getting to know my patient.

Rebecca – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to provide the best care to each and every one of my patients.  Get to know my patients personally to allow them to place their trust in me.

Stephanie To – University of Glasgow Student Nurse

 

I pledge to provide kindness and care for those who need it.  I will take the time to listen.

Kirsten Windram – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to always communicate with patients to the best of my abilities.  To help patients feel as relaxed as possible.

Rebecca Aitken – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to make an effort to get to know every patient as a person.  Taking time to listen.

Emma Speirs – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to make every effort to understand everybody’s past, present and their hopes for the future, and to enable these hopes to the best of my ability.

Verity Stuart – Student Nurse, University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to try my best to do everything to help and support people and their families.  Not only to improve their illness/condition but to put things/support in place to better people’s lives.  To do the best to provide high quality care, support and compassion.

Natasha – Student Nurse University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to do my best to provide the best care possible to both my patients and in my personal life, regardless of my personal needs.  I will also try to continue to ensure I maintain my own personal needs whiles helping others.

Natasha – Student Nurse University of Glasgow

 

I pledge to try and always call patients by the name they want to be called, never their bed number or condition, always making them feel comfortable.

Heather Trayner – Student Nurse

 

My pledge to the people that I care for is to treat each of them life part of my own family what I would want for my own family members.  Ensuring I take the time to listen and provide the best care possible.

Erinn Carlton – University of Glasgow Student

 

I pledge to be the best nurse I can possibly be.  To treat everybody the way I would and be there for them on their best and worst times.

Yasmeen Kor – University of Glasgow Student Nurse

 

I pledge to let everyone I ever care for know they are not alone and that I will always be there for them.

 

I pledge to try to help people feel ease and supported when they are not feeling their best or are feeling low.  To take time and be the person that holds their hand and makes them feel that little bit better.

Rachel Jaxon – Student Nurse

 

I pledge to involve every individual I care for in all decisions made about their care.

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

