3rd Year Social Work Students Pledge to Make a Difference

1

Thank you to  Paul Hollingdale, Senior Lecturer Behavioural & Social Sciences at the University of Huddersfield for kindly inviting Tommy to speak to 3rd year social work students who attend the University as part of a dementia study day.

Big thanks to our great project friend Suzanne Wightman @WightmanSuzanne Admiral Nurse Professional and Practice Development Facilitator (North) at Dementia UK who was also speaking and for putting Tommy’s name forward.

The day was very inspiring and we were so very glad to spend time with our future social workers.

You can meet some below and read their wonderful pledges.

Massive thanks from all the DCV team.

I promise to do my very best with anyone I meet and to care and promise to care.

Andrew Brady

Student social care

I pledge to the best I can for all people

Charlotte

Social work

I pledge to be a kind caring social worker and to always make the people I work with feel special cared for and listened to.

Miriam

Student social worker

I promise to always listen and do everything I can to help.

Joanne Dennis

Huddersfield University

I promise to go the extra mile for the Individuals I meet to make a difference to their life

Hannah Morris.

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to take the time to get to know people, see people as individuals and listen to people life stories, I pledge to make a difference.

I pledge to take the time to get to know people and hear their stories

I pledge to make a difference in people lives for the better and ensure to hear and make their voice heard.

Rebecca Tyrack

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to always try and find out what matters to a person, to see the person instead of just seeing dementia, listen and learn a person’s story.

Annabella Pemberston

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to go above and beyond to listen, care to and make a difference to people’s lives

Hanna Varley

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to always reamin kind herated and truly dedicated towards making life a little easier for those who need a listenin ear. I pledge to promote positive change, always.

Alice Turton

Student social worker – 3rd year

I pledge to take the time to lisent to that person’s sotry, what matters to them and find out how I can help fulfilling their wishes.

Marie Harris

Student social care

I pledge that I will work with people and stories, to that they continue living as the people they are.

Kean Hitclon

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to always find people, their families and their life history.

Mathew Burns

Administrator nurse

I pledge that I will never use the term “has dementia” ever again but I will use the term “living with dementia” I will always find out someone’s story when I work with them, I do my best to make a positive difference.

Natalie Lund

Social work student

I pledge to understand what matters to a person by listening, talking and including them always. I pledge to view the person first and not their disability.

Jo Willians.

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to help and support families to the best I can, and to show care, and love, and concern always.

I pledge to be kind and support carers.

I pledge to continue to listen, communicate, help, support and to care. I will see the person first, to be there, to be that person to care.

Lisa Barnes

Social work student.

I will get to know who the person was one, and who they want to be, I will get to know their story.

Jenna

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to find out what and who is important to everyone I work with.

Fay Oldoyd

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to learn each people story who work with.

Jamie

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to take the time to discover what matters to people and to always keep this in mind when I am working with them

Louise Butterfiel

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to listen to people, know their story and be kind to people.

Kirsty MacDonald

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to always love and listen ear and make sur the person is at the centre of their care.

Rebecca Hollis

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to continue listening and learning more about needs of those with dementia and their carers.

B, Golding

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to care and aid.

Moses Moyo

Huddersfield University – Student social worker

I pledge to listen to what people want.

Nikola Forbes

Social worker Huddersfield University

I pledge to continue sharing researching and knowing on life story work so they become used daily for people with dementia, to live a fulfilling life.

Micky Mallon

Senior lecture Huddersfield University

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

