University of West of England Pledge to Make a Difference

2

Big thanks to Sally Hayes, Julie, Polly and Ruth for inviting Tommy to give two talks to students at the University of West of England in Bristol on 8th December.

The second talk of the day was also live linked to the Gloucester campus.

The day was truly inspiring and we feel so very honoured to have spent the day with 300  nursing students.

The university will be launching pledge trees across the campus we will update more on this soon.

In the meantime be inspired by the wonderful pledges below.

Thank you from all the team at DCV.

 

I pledge that all families living with dementia have the right support at the right time.

Hilda Hayo.

I pledge to always smile when I meet a patient and to introduce myself to them and ask them their names.

Lindsey Sharpe

I pledge to remember the story in my daily practice, and remember why I become a nurse

Karen Baza

I pledge to continue to always see the person, the individual, to do my best for the patients and families I came into contract with and take the time to ask the right questions, what matters to them, who matters to them

Victoria Mann

I pledge to try and make a difference! To get to know the people I am caring for and their lives

Hannan

I pledge to give the best possible care I can and do what is important to them! A person not a disease

Beth Whoolley

I pledge to always take time to listen, take time to always be there for patients and carers that need support and guidance

Grace Jones

I pledge to kame people smile, because for that moment any worries or fears are forgotten about

Molly Kendall

I pledge to always take the time to listen to patients, carers, family members, not matter how busy. Always remember that listening and learning are at the heart of nursing

Becky Harris

I pledge to care, to listen and to ask questions and to make a difference.

Rees

I pledge to remember that every person with dementia had a life and to treat them as that person and be as supportive as I can

Laura Timewell

I pledge to care for people in the best way I can, whilst listening and communicating as best as I can

Lisa Smith

I pledge to always put people first, finding out what is important to them and tailoring care to their needs, taking time to listen

Abbie Frankum

I pledge to see that person as a person not an illness

Amy ward

I pledge to always ask what matters to the person I am caring for

Lucy Forst.

I pledge to always make sure I get to know the people I am looking after and be kind and genuine to them and the people around them. I will take the time to get to know families and carers.

Ashlee Jones

I pledge to support people and their families through difficult times and to let them know they are not alone and that they matter to

Emma

I pledge to see the individual, not the dementia. And to let them and their family and friends know there is always someone there who will listen.

Becky Selley

I pledge to make a difference in al the live I come into contact with, and do the best to do what matters to them.

Bethany Watts.

I pledge to ask what matters to you and who matters to you, and listen to people answers so I can help make a difference.

Amy Watkins

I pledge to care about what matters and who matters in people’s lives when they are under my care

Redemta N

I pledge to do what matters to people I look after by listening to their stories and providing the best care I can

Natalie Creber

I pledge to be there for the person whoever, wherever possible and to support in all possible ways.

I pledge to play a part in my patients’ story.

Harriet Glimstead

I pledge to listen to each patient and learn what matters to them and what their Journey has been.

Christine Cooper.

I pledge to listen and hear the voices of people, patients, clients and their loved ones and carers. Treat everyone how I would want my loved ones to be cared for

 

Megan Robinson

I pledge to care and take time to get to know every person I look after as an individual

Lily Davies

I pledge to continue to practice in a relationship, personal way! To improve my knowledge and improve my care

Jade Dicker

I pledge to take time to give people the opportunity to talk and feel they matter

Donna

I pledge to enjoy my loved ones’ company every day and to learn every patients story.

Rebecca Hayton

I pledge to treat every individual who comes into my care to receive individual care, and that I will treat and care for them in best way I am physically able to

Colette Winter

I pledge to never forget how easy it is to bring comfort to people by a simple few words or a gentle touch.

Becky Bishop

 

I pledge to have empathy and understanding on all individual stories and try my best every day to be kind and caring

Charlotte Lewis

I pledge to encourage others to make a difference, also to offer my care and kindness for if I possibly can and listen to my patients’ stories.

Natasha Curtis

I pledge to seek to understand the dementia patients’ lives who they are and what matters to them

I pledge to make sure people who suffer from dementia are cared for in their own homes in a good manner

Michael Gudo

I pledge to give the best possible care I can to people with dementia and their loved ones. Also, to make them feel valuable and respected through my care and listen to their stories.

Natalja Zguna

I pledge to enhance my knowledge and skill to be able to care for any body who comes into my care, I will take the time to listen to them to find out what and who matters to them

Zenobia Forkyo

I pledge to make a difference to someone’s life by asking what I is that matters to them

Jodie Large

I pledge to take time to get to know my patients, family and friends feeling scared, lonely and afraid because of dementia. Do my best to make that moment count.

Adelaide

I pledge to take time to learn my patients’ stories and do my very best to make a difference to individuals’ lives

Hannah Flicker

I pledge to ensure individuality in care given, to take the time to listen and learn from patient’s carers to make a difference.

Allison Cooper

I pledge to learn about the lives of those I watch with and remember these lives and to see the person.

David Williams

I pledge to make everyone feel valued

Alex Fields

I pledge to try to make a difference to help even one person in some of the darkest moments of their life seems like a worthwhile way to spend my short time on this earth

Faith Williams

I pledge to take time to listen to the person and find out what really matters to them and to spend more time with them

Sallyann A.

I pledge to fill in this is me leaflets to find out what is important to my patients, and forever give the best care I can

Lara Robson

I pledge to ask every patient I care for what matters to you? Let them talk to me, and I will listen to their stories.

Sarah Hamilton

I pledge to always try and make a difference to the patients are be looking after.I pledge to listen more to the carers and family, and provide support to them in the best of my abilities.

I pledge to make sure to always ask patients, what matters to them, and listen to their stories. So, I can care for them as personally as possible.

Maria Lopes

I pledge to treat all my patients with respect and dignity and not judge them by their illness. I want to show them I care and that I am there for them and their families. I want to be able to make a difference to their lives.

Stacey F

I pledge to listen my patients, listen to their stories, treat them as an individual.

Grace Gealan

I pledge to continue being a good nurse, with full dedication and patience, kindness and respect for the people I care for now and in the future

Barbara A

I pledge to find out more about the stories of the people I care for. To treat everyone I care for with dignity and respect by asking my patients what would make their day better

Heather Clark

I pledge to make more of an effort to be the nurse who makes that small difference in a person’s life. Either a cup of tea, a chat or holding its hand. I will be the carer I want, should my mum ever needs

Stephen O‘Hara

I pledge to find out what matters to every patient I look after and listen also give people the dignity and respect they deserve, to help with a smile for every patient and comment make their day better

Angela M

I pledge to warp everything I do up with kindness and make sure that anyone involved never feels lonely. To help make part of their story a little bit better and to always fish any conversation with a smile.

Jessica Matthews

I pledge to continue caring for my patients with the same love, care and attention that I show my own nanny, ensuring each of their needs is meet even if it is just to listen

Jessica Cock

I pledge to always make time to actively listen

Gwenvron J,

I pledge to listen to all of their stories and love stories and never to think of their condition when caring for them

Aimee Kingdom

I pledge to utilise care, communicate, compassion, courage, commitment in all my day to day practise as a mental health nurse

Ruth

I pledge to listen to the amazing stories an experience of every patient I look after we can learn from them, Dementia and thank you Tommy

Isobel Plling.

I pledge to promote dignity and independence, understand patients’ choices and what and who matters to them as individuals, not to label individuals according to their illness.

Moyo

I pledge to live, love, laugh, feelings everyone should experience daily as a nurse, I pledge to give my patients these basic experiences

I pledge to always remember the person and not the disease.

Rhiana Edwards

I pledge to hold onto the belief and always strive to facilitate that, every story remain a love story and never needs to be a tragedy.

Peter Gosling

I pledge to know and fulfil what people in my care and their carers need to feel safe.

Leonie J Milner

I pledge to communicate well with service users and to discover the person behind the illness.

Rhianne W

I pledge to learn the life story of the patient and their families, listen to them, communicate and give them the best possible care

I pledge to ensure that the people under my care know that their experiences and feelings are important to give care that is responsive to needs of patients and not react to a diagnosis. I pledge to always be mindful that they are grandmothers, mothers, sisters, all humans who deserve kindness and respect. Let nothing stand in my way and will.

Theresa Bhila

I pledge to always put the needs of others above my own and to find the time to really see who people are. History is as important as the present, it defines who people are, dementia not

Ann Martin

I pledge to always be there to listen to someone as you may be the only person they talk to that day and ask what is important to you

Carey Wilson

I pledge to always have time to smile to listen and to hear the stories of others, to care for and comfort in times of distress and find out what matters to that person on that day and in their life. I will take time to ask how can I make your day better today? And make sure I follow it through

Jemma Silverton

I pledge to be a part of someone’ s life story, love story and caring with kindness, respectful and supportive in any way I can in any way my clients and carers need.

April

 

I pledge to listen and take time to talk to those who are struggling with dementia support and help them with my experience so they do not feel alone, and to continue that support throughout their journey and to never forget the lives they had before dementia but celebrate it

Caitlin Hammett

I pledge to ask what matters to you, to listen to what matters to you, to do what matters to you. To involve carers in any decision making

Natasha Murray

I pledge to take time to truly listen to all the people I care for and their families and carers and find out what is important to that individual share a smile everyday

Emma Andrews

I pledge to raise awareness of dementia in my workplace by recognising the individual not the illness

Debbie

I pledge to continue being an advocate for my patients with dementia in the best way possible, ensuring patient centred care is always met

Sara King

I pledge to fulfil a career in working with those with dementia so I can truly make a difference in care standards.

Katie Wyatt

I pledge to listen to and learn from the patients and carers I am nursing

Natasha Moom

I pledge to take the time to listen to patients and their careers and their stories. I pledge to offer a helping hand for comfort when they feel scared and give them some hope, warmth, something to smile about again.

Natasha G.

I pledge to listen and to learn more about how dementia affects people and their carers, in order to be able to support and help others.

Alison Holman

I pledge to care, empower and listen and treat people as they should be treated…as lovely human being.

Lois Jones

I pledge to treat and care for everyone to the best of my ability. To car e for everyone the way I would love to be cared for. To ask people what matters to them, listen to what matters to them, and do what matters to them

Olika

I pledge to create awareness and promote the right of dementia patients and their carers to help improve their quality and life. And educate others about dementia to the best of my knowledge

Nancy M

I pledge to see the person and not the illness, I want to listen to their carers to let them know they are not suffering alone. I want to try and connect with the individual through getting to know them as a person, learn their story and help them to smile at least once a day.

Dee Wareham

I pledge to learn each individual personal story

Jess Andrews

I pledge to listen to the people I am caring for and work with, and give the best care and compassion

Aisha B

I pledge to be kind to my patients and their carers all the time and every time I get in contact with them

Komakech

I pledge to always listen fully to people I care for and find out about life and what is important to them

Sophie McCarthy

I pledge to make a difference to every life I come across to always ask who they are and who matters to them

Zoe Hout

I pledge to ensure that I show my care towards everyone I look after. To always treat people as individuals with their own stories and with the respect they deserve.

Estelle Harris

I pledge to take the time to listen and find out what matters to each individual and learn something about

Megan

I pledge to always listen acknowledge the life story of each person I encounter and care for, and to appreciate how unique and beautiful each individual is

Dawn Collins

I pledge to get to know my patients outside of their condition/ illness

Lorna O’Connelll

I pledge to matter where I am or what I am doing, always try and be the nurse/ human being to try and make a difference. The small things matters

Anna Hamilton.

I pledge to listen and keep their love story alive

Geraldine

I pledge to hold onto my drive to provide excellent care and stop to remember I love my job and I can make a difference

Natasha Dennis.

 

I pledge to take the time to find out at least one thing that matters to every person I know and care for.

Stephenie Walker

I pledge to treat patients as people as treat them as well as I want to be treated, lastly listening to their stories.

Annah M

I pledge to always be kind, to listen and learn, respect.

I pledge to continue to listen and take the time to learn people live stories.

I pledge to always take the time to listen and get to know my patients and their stories, to always be kind and helpful

Thea lowe

I pledge to never to care for a person just because of their illness but because of who they are and the stories behind them and always pay attention to detail.

Rachel Frost

I pledge to listen and protect your dignity.

I pledge to use my experience throughout the time when taking care of my grandmother who was diagnosed with dementia before she died, I learned to be patient, reflective, and listen what was important to them

Michaela H

I pledge to be more aware of the language I use and how this impacts care

Grace Van Den Bergh

I pledge to always try to see the person at the centre of their story, and to find out from them what matters to them and how can I help

J Mason.

I pledge to make a effort to listen to family and carers and ask them question about one person’s history and their likes, and dislikes…etc

Alice Scobie

I pledge to remember the whole person and their most important thing that matter to them not just their diagnosis

Sara Burrows

 

I pledge to take the time to learn about my patients so I can find out what is most important to my patients, and for my nun dementia may have taken your memory but it will never take your spirit.

Daniel

I pledge to ask what is important to you, listen to their life story, role model this, hopefully this ripple effect will touch as many as possible.

Whitfield

I pledge to make a difference to individuals who are affected by dementia, by putting their story first and being as caring and supportive as I can. I will always strive to find out what is that really matters to people and never decide about them without them

Anderson

I pledge to take time and get to really know my patients and find out their story what is important to them. If I can help them feel less scared and isolated, I have done my job

S.Pope

I pledge to try and make a difference every day whether it be a something as small as making someone smile, because every small positive moment matters.

Bekkin Cresswell

I pledge to try my best to always make a patient with dementia feel as safe and comfortable as they can be

Robyn McPhenon

I pledge to always see the person behind the diagnosis and make the time to listen and help to give them a new sense of hope

Helen Bennett

I pledge to remember to see to person behind the dementia at every interaction to remember that the person has a whole story and to not lose sight of that

Sarah Bevins

I pledge to take time to get to know the individual and their carer, and find out what mattes to them

Fiona Patch

I pledge to care with honest compassion and dignity for the person and their loved ones. Also, to challenge care that I observe that does less than this, explaining why, always try to speak to person as if they will be able to answer instead of looking past them as to their family or care instead

Rachael Tolson

I pledge to do my bet to make sure nobody feels isolated or lonely in my care

Charlotte B.

I pledge to be the best nurse I possibly can be, always with a friendly, kind approach, respecting everyone who comes into my care always remembering to smile.

Sarah Sidwell

I pledge to listen to my patients’ stories and ask questions about the lives they have had

Estelle Dyer

I pledge to get to know m patient life story I take the time to fully understand them as a person, not as just a patient with a condition. To continue to listen and respect each patient, to meet their individual needs to the best of my ability

Sandell

I pledge to always make the time to listen to what is important to people, not matter how small

Angharad Roberts

I pledge to know a person story, to always be kind

Emma

I pledge to always take time for everyone, know everyone’s story and what matters to them

I Liddle.

I pledge to continue a high quality of care to all patient and in future time, to listen to their story and give support.

Ann Soriano.

I pledge to never tire of listening to the stories of others and responding with loving interest.

Sarah Collins.

I pledge to never lose my compassion concerning others. To make a difference to individual lives, to remind myself of the incredible patients I have shared stories with, to focus on them as an individual, not their dementia and to never forget why I wanted to become a nurse

Lucy Snape

I pledge to always be there for people to be the hand to hold, the ears to listen, the shoulder to cry on. I will always care, always listen and be there. A little bit of kindness can go such a long way. We have to look after each other.

Tara

I pledge to never pass someone who needs my help, no matter what is to make a difference

Jennifer Senior

I pledge to care for each patient as an individual, recognising the person they once were, taking time to talk with them and their loved ones, to make a difference to each person.

Rebecca Turton

I pledge to listen to what matters, continue to support and care for that person and family holistically

Danni Wide

I pledge to care for people to the best of my ability and always take time to learn their story.

Paige Ible

I pledge to listen to patients’ life stories and make a difference to the patients’ lives, remembering who they are, not as dementia

Jemma Boyce

I pledge to listen to the stories of people with dementia and their careers, and to care for them to the best of my ability

Emma Moore

I pledge to take time to ask about the lives of each person and what made them who they are today, and make them to feel important

Sophie Rose H.

I pledge to act as patient advocate to the best of my ability and to always see past a patient’s medical conditions and to see them as an individual

Stephanie Jones

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

