Glasgow Caledonian Nursing #Pledge to Make a difference

image1-1

With great thanks to Margaret Caldwell, senior lecturer at Glasgow Caledonian University for kindly inviting Tommy back this year to speak to 400 second year Nursing Students.

image23

This is the 4th year now we have been invited to speak across the nursing modules you can read last year’s pledges here

Tommy was joined by Cath Cooney from the ALLIANCE’s House of Care project and Heather Edwards from the Care Inspectorate who help by sharing the work they do and on turning good intentions into a purposeful action.

The House of Care represents a tangible and proven approach that allows healthcare to embrace collaborative care and support planning and support people living with multiple long term conditions to self manage. This approach supports and enables people to articulate their own needs and decide on their own priorities, through a process of joint decision making, goal setting and action planning.

image12

Thank you to all at GCU, the inspiring students, Cath and Heather

 

You can read the student’s pledges below:

I applied to study nursing because I enjoying caring people, it is such a natural act, that is so easy get incredible rewarding, I want to make a difference.

Amy Johnston.

I pledge to speech out to those who are unable to.

Jemma Stephen

I pledge to always act with compassion and recognise individuality.

Claire Moore.

I pledge is to listen and treat everyone with kindness

Jenna

I pledge to always listen and understand patients and families’ stories.

Lucy Iruine

I pledge to listen to my patients and what matters to them

Bronwyn Smalls

I pledge to listen to my patients, let them be heard and understand what matters to them

Rachel Calder

My pledge is to get to know each patient for who they were, not who their condition has made them, to get to know them personally

Hannah Dougan

My pledge is respect and listen to all patients and support them in their time of need

Anonymous

My pledge is to see the person and not the illness, help people thrive, be the best nurse and person I can be for my patients and myself.

Siobhan Thomson

I pledge to see the person within the patient. By fulfilling their own preferences and needs and wants.

Louise Fitzsimons

I pledge to try my best to make a positive difference in the lives I come in contact with while never losing the idea of what is important to that vulnerable person to never stop caring and showing understanding to everyone

Anonymous

I pledge to also get to know every patient I care for whether I know them for an hour or 6 months

Sarah Warren

My pledge is to be the nurse that takes the time to recognise the patient first and their needs before seeing them as a patient with dementia

Karen

I pledge to be a voice for the people who have lost them.

Anonymous

I pledge to always call a patient/service user/human being by their name and not their illness or condition

C.Cloherty

My pledge is to be the best nurse I can be and change the lives of everyone I meet, may it be big or small

Bobbi Mulcany

I pledge is to want to help people remain as individuals not just patients

Geraldine

I pledge to always treat people as individuals and not as their illness, to always see the person

Lisa

I pledge to treat each individual as their own person and try to make a difference in a patient journey

Nicole Gray

I pledge to make a difference to their care to learn about my patients and what matters to them and help make it happen

Rachel Louise

I pledge to continue treating people the way I would want to be treated and to value them as a whole person and not just for the illness they have today, tomorrow and everyday

Gemma Tiemy

I pledge to view patients as a person and never their condition, to learn, to listen and understand.

Rebecca

I pledge to get to know the people I care for, and shore this knowledge with all staff members there is always time

Stephanie Fielding

I pledge to provide person – centred care while taking people past/hopes and dreams on, learning more about them as a whole.

Jade McKenna

I pledge to see people for who they are and not the illness they have

Louise McMillan

I pledge to become a nurse that people remember for good reasons, by always being caring, compassionate and understanding of other people’s lives and situations

Anonymous

I pledge to always take the time to get to know the people I care for, to try my best to provide the best possible care that is tailored to that person’s individual wishes and needs

Gemma MacDermott

I pledge to always listen to my patients and their carers to know them and treat them as a person rather than their illness

Ashley

My pledge is to make time for others to listen to any concerns.

Anonymous

My pledge is to be that nurse, THE NURSE that always goes out her way to help, to listen to try and understand to make my patients’ life just a little easier.

Stacey Hughes

I pledge to really listen and encourage all forms of communication with people I meet

Anonymous

I pledge to make a difference, be that nurse that takes the time to get to know each and every individual and patient and their history and not their illness

Anonymous

I pledge to take the time to find out who my patient is and to listen to them, always give them a choice

Anonymous

I pledge to ask and listen to the stories of people I work with, not only of their day but through their life

Morgan Shank

I pledge to see the person not the condition, to make people smile and laugh everyday

Anonymous

I pledge to always aspire to provide individual with the care and treatment that they deserve, to treat them with respect and compassion and view them as unique individuals and maintain their dignity.

Anonymous

I pledge to listen to patient and families’ stories, appreciating who people are and who they have become

Amie Weir

I pledge to always do what I can in order to make someone’s life better, by asking the simplest question to patients to make their day that wee bit better.

Sophie Campbell

I pledge to always treat and look at a person with dementia as an individual, not an illness

Jaye Hardie

I pledge to always see the person, not the illness they have, and take the time to listen to their story’s

Heather Baird

I pledge to always take the time to learn about my patients’ life and what matters to them

Anonymous

I pledge to base my care on the people I care for, rather than what I thing I know. Everyone I care for will be able to tell me their story, and I will be able to listen and develop their car.

May Huges

I pledge to always ask and take time to listen to and ask question about the person’ s life and things they loved

Anonymous

I pledge to always look beyond the surface, be aware of what is going on behind the conditions.

Kimberly

I pledge to look after the individuals and care for them with respect and who they are.

Anonymous

I pledge to treat all people as individuals not referring to them by their condition and to learn the stories of all my patients and their families.

Anonymous

I pledge to work in such a way that I change people’s lives when caring for them, that they feel involved and the decision maker in their care, seeing the person for who they are and not their illness

Amy

I pledge to change the lives of each and every person I care for and their loved ones, I pledge to see the person beyond their condition

Claire Morrison

I pledge to always care for my patients with the compassion, support and respect to enable them to have a happy, fulfilled life, remembering the person first and then the illness, always have love!

Paula Stark

I pledge to always treat people in my care as individuals and with respect, and compassion

Natalie

I pledge to always remember people are amazing and to help bring happiness and love to people

Anonymous

I pledge to see the person, not the condition and to ensure I have done everything I can to ensure I have provided all the care, and compassion and support I can

Anonymous

I pledge to see the person and not the condition and place the patient at the centre of their care

Anonymous

I pledge to always know someone’s story and who they are as a person not as an illness, be the best person I can be to my patents. I will always be a voice for the people I care for!

Lindsay

I pledge to strive to be that nurse that makes a difference to see a person for who they are, be a voice for someone who cannot longer speak for themselves, they are a person before their illness, forget the illness, see the person.

Jennifer Lauren Scott

I pledge to be a voice for people who do not have ones, never accept bad care standards

Lorraine Allan

I pledge to always put the person at the centre of my care and see past condition and know their stories.

Kerry McKissock

I pledge to make a person smile, be happy and have their voice heard

Vicki

I pledge to listen more carefully to people around me because everyone has a story to tell

Anonymous

I pledge to always find about what really matters to my patients and their careers.

Pamela Kirk

I pledge to see people for who they really are not the medical condition, and listen and act to what matters and who matters to them

Anonymous

I pledge to treat people with dignity and respect, bring the best for everybody

Anonymous

My pledge I to be there for people who are in need of help, dedicating my time, love and laugh, delivering my best care.

Dawn

I pledge is to always treat people with compassion, dignity and love. To always listen not matter what

Motolani Thomson

I pledge to always remember how I would want myself and loved ones to be treated.

Angela

I pledge to always be the best I can be as a caring, loving nurse. Take a break if lever feel my ability for the job is doing so I never become bad nurse

Laura

I pledge to make a difference and take the time to get to know my patient and do whatever it takes to make their time in hospital that wee bit better

Fiona Morrison

I pledge to get to know my patients individually to help them through their illness

Anonymous

I pledge to treat the individual as the individual that the person is and not the illness condition, to be a dedicated and compassionate nurse 110% of the time

Anonymous

I pledge to be able to make different to every person, especially people who cannot make it for themselves

Anonymous

I pledge to always listen to what matters no matter what!

Laura

I pledge to take the time, listen and make every person feel that they are, the most special person

Anonymous

I pledge to try and get to know the people I care for not as a patient but as a person and to politely challenge people who do not do the same

Danielle

I pledge to be the nurse that people feel safe with, look forward to being able to be a voice for someone who cannot voice theirs anymore. To be there to put them anxieties at easy just by listening to them, I hope that I would one day be the person they need me to be

Anonymous

I pledge to let individual living with dementia and their loved ones/carers know they are a person with meaning to their community and they are doing a good job and take account of what and who matters to them

Katie

I pledge to try harder to make patients laugh and smile more, particularly on their darkest days, what matters to you?

Anonymous

I pledge to never forget the person and story behind the dementia diagnosis I also pledge to always care and be an advocate for those.

Maisie Tonagh

My pledge is to take the time to understand patients and families

Cheryl Connel

I pledge to care, to love, to listen and to make a difference, to make a living out of caring and loving

Anna Romero

My pledge is to challenge people’s negative attitude to dementia nurse the person, not the symptoms. Value the stories that I hear,

John Templeton

I pledge to always be there to be a hand to hold, an ear to listen, eyes to see and hear to love.

Anonymous

I pledge to be the best nurse I can be, putting a smile on my patient’s faces

Suzy

I pledge to work closely either my patients and their families to find out what matters to them and go that extra mile to allow them to have theirs wishes fulfilled.

Amy McCue

I pledge to treat everyone as individuals and encourage people to listen to everyone’s stories

Anonymous

I pledge to take time to get to know the whole family and look past face value, really listen

Anonymous

I pledge to make sure I make the time to listen and make a difference to every person

Emma MaHlly

I pledge to treat patients with dementia with care and compassion that they deserve

Andrea Michelle

I pledge to always treat people living with dementia as how I’d want my own to be treated.

Leeanne

I pledge to get to know my patients and their stories and help their love stories alive.

Lois Anderson

I pledge to enable people living with dementia to live well with a standard of care, I would expect for any member of my own family.

RAE

I pledge to always keep the glass “topped up”

Anonymous

I pledge to make sure I deliver the best care I possibly can and make sure I make any patients I look after as safe and comfortable as possible

Lorraine

I pledge to be the children’s nurse that makes them smile and feel better even when everything is going wrong, to make a difference.

Anonymous

I pledge to find out what matters and who matters to each and every person I care for

Jennifer

My pledge is to always take me time to listen, get to know me person not me condition they are living with.

Aland Mason

I pledge to try my best to be a voice for people with dementia when they need it, to listen and encourage them to be who they want to be

Bethany McPhail

I pledge to always remember to care for people, the way that I would wish to be cared for if I was in their position

Jamie Drummond

I pledge to always listen to what and who matters to those in my care, to get to know their stories and love stories to patient with them, care for them and not define them by dementia but by their name

Lisa Hughes

My pledge is to see the person and not the condition and to take the time to find out who and what matters to them

Andrew Magee

I pledge to take the time to know what matter to every person individually

Anonymous

I pledge to make at least one difference to each of my patients

Anonymous

I pledge to treat people who are in my care the same as they deserve, dignity and respect. No matter what they are battling

Laura Sloan

I pledge to provide as amazing care as my beautiful gran received in the last 3 months of life this year. Is always treat the people I meet and work with as individuals, how would I wish to be treated in this situation, and how wold I like my family members to be treated in this situation.

Laura Gill

I pledge to treat every person and family with respect and understanding and to always deliver the highest quality of person centred care that I can

Amy O’shea

I pledge to take a stand for those who cannot themselves let their voices heard

Rebecca Brennan

I pledge to see the patient not as a list of symptoms or a conditions but as a person

Leanna Haggarty

I pledge to make sure I know the person and not the disease know what they used to do and about their life.

Naomi Wise

I pledge to always respect the person offer support to the person, their family and carer, remember I could be their lifeline, remember everyone should be loved

Natalie

I pledge to take the time to learn about people’s life and experience, along with what matters to them

Aimee

I pledge to always be helpful and caring to patients, to always have a smile on my face.

Anonymous

I pledge to always see the person, not the condition. I pledge to always remember the carers and families and be mindful of their worries concerns and feelings. I pledge to listen.

Lynsey Fraser

I pledge to continue treat as their own person the person before the illness.

Amanda

I pledge to appreciate patients and their families’ carers. Always include them in their care process

Anonymous

I pledge to be an advocate for all the patients come across in my career, maintain person centred care

Laura Millen

I pledge to transform the lives and experiences of people with dementia and their careers, I aim to do this to make a positive difference to people’s lives

Charlotte Cherry

I pledge to introduce myself to every patient and to take the time to get to know what’s important to them

Anonymous

I pledge to find out more about all of my patients or service users.

Chloe Lennox

I pledge to not just see a condition but find out what matter to the individual. I will try to focus on the person strength not their weakness alongside raising awareness

  1. Campbell

I pledge to ensure I treat everyone as an individual to make a difference by caring and making sure individuals feel safe and comfortable. I came into nursing to save lives and make a difference and hope I am remembered for this

Rebecca Nicol

I pledge to listen not just my ears but with my heart, so that I can be an advocated for those who have lost their voice

Kelly Buchanan

I pledge to make a difference to people lives, for the better and be part of their story.

Kayleigh M.

I pledge to always see the people I look after as a person and not their illness diagnosis and take time to do the little thrives

Alicia Paterson

I pledge to recognise the person not the disease or condition. Always treat people with dignity and respect and get to know them as a person. And to make people smile.

Anonymous

I pledge to make a positive difference to every patient and family that I look after

Jacqueline

I pledge to take the time to ask what matters to you and who matters to you, to show care and compassion every day

Alyson

I pledge to encourage that time is spent with patients to get to know them as an individual and encourage them to participate in activities that they enjoy

Anonymous

I pledge to always ask and listen which is the main component of care and most importantly, support them in everyone steps with dementia or not even dementia just generally support everyone in need of help.

Shikn Ifran Arif

I pledge to treat each person equally with care and compassion, treat a patient as an individual and not just a patient

Anonymous

I pledge to stay positive in my nursing course, and always take the time to get to know my patients and their families story

Karen Tegg

I pledge to listen and respect my patient and families and support them in all the way I can

Leeann Craddoch

I pledge to ask patients what and who matters to them and learn their individual stories.

Anonymous

I pledge to spend the time to make the care I deliver compassionate and person centred care.

Anonymous

 I pledge to make a difference to people lives big or small, and to always stay positive.

Kaa Blair

I pledge to always listen support my patients

Anonymous

I pledge to spend time getting to know my patients, make them feel as comfortable as possible

Anonymous

I pledge to make at least one person smile each day in my care

Anonymous

I pledge to make time and a difference to all, not matter how big or small it was

Suzanne

I pledge to listen to the love stories of my patients.

Susanne Quigg

I pledge to listen to my patient and provide what matters to them and hear their voices.

Danielle Hopkins

I pledge to take time to bond with patients, even those who cannot talk themselves

Shannon Kangley

I pledge to treat people as an individual for who they are, not for the illness/condition

Danielle Hunter

I pledge to take care of my patients and listening to their stories

Rachel McGeachy

I pledge to listen to my patients and their stories,

Jennifer Miller,

I pledge to take everything about a person into consideration and ask more questions

Anonymous

I pledge to be the best nurse I can be to be able to view the person as an individual and not heir conditions, and to always show my care for them

Roby Gemme

I pledge to make a difference in an individual’s life to see and individual as a person and not what condition they may have.

Karen Millar

I pledge to treat everyone with the respect and dignity they really deserve

Christina Mclean

I pledge to always listen and communicate with individuals with dementia and make them feel like they need.

Becca

I pledge to care for everyone individually and listen to their stories

Niamh McKillop

I pledge to gather information and get to know the patient with dementia.

Amanda Ward.

I pledge to take more time to get to know people with dementia in order to five them better person centred care.

Anonymous

I pledge to always put and see the person first, before the condition.

Anonymous

I pledge to ensure person centred care

William mooney

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges
One comment on “Glasgow Caledonian Nursing #Pledge to Make a difference
  1. […] popped in to our session last week  at GCU and promised to take our campaign back to some of the classes that she […]

Leave a Reply

