Reaching 1 Million….

cropped-cropped-dementia-carer-cmyk-landscape.jpg

Tommy Whitelaw with his mum Joan, who has Alzheimers. Tommy Is planning a walking tour of Scottish cities to raise awareness

Special guest blog comes from our very own Tommy Whitelaw, Celebrating reaching 1 million people in 5 years.

I Million reads of my blog, films, letters and tour – Thank you from my heart

Hi,

My wee blog that started when caring for my kind mum Joan, our films,  produced to share our story have now reached 1 Million reads, film views and people in person at talks on the tour.

I want to thank everyone from my heart who has taken the time to read, share, attend a talk, send a letter or comment for the great kindness and support.

This kindness and support played such a big part in helping my mum living with dementia and myself as a son and carer and has continued to do so till this day as Project Engagement Lead at Dementia Carer Voices

When I first started caring for mum, I thought my mum was the only person living with dementia and I was the only carer. I was soon to find out how far from true that this was.

The blog and subsequent talks and tour enlightened our lives and introduced us to so many inspiring, caring and kind people and for that I shall be eternally grateful.

Someone asked me a few months back,

“What did I learn caring for my mum living with dementia?”

The answer is a lesson my mum tried to teach me all my life, that people are kind and caring and if you take time to listen this will become clear.  I wish I would have listened much sooner in life but I suppose my mum was still helping right through to the last day.

Thank you from my heart for reading my blog for watching the films for coming to the talks for the letters, lessons and kindness along the way.

People are amazing and I am glad to have met so many on my journey.

Thank you for caring.

Tommy

 

Posted in 'Viewpoint' Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

