North Devon Pledge to Make a Difference

image1

19th May saw our Project Engagement Lead, Tommy Whitelaw visit Care Homes Team, Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust.  Big thanks to  Sarah Winfield-Davies, Safeguarding Adult Nurse for inviting Tommy to share his story and the campaign at their Dementia Awareness Forum.  

The feedback we have received from the day has been fantastic.  Some of which include:

“Engaging, Fantastic, Emotional, Thought Provoking, Insightful”

“We were honoured to have Tommy speak at our forum and I have no doubt that the impact of what he shared with us will improve the way we care for those living with Dementia in North Devon”

Thanks to everyone who came to see Tommy and hear his story and about the project.  Here is the pledges we received on the day:

I pledge to care for people as individuals taking into account their past. To spend more time listening to those I care for, getting to know and understand them as individuals.
Sarah Winfred-Davis

I pledge to find out who or what matters to all the residents in my care. Make moving into a care home less frightening.

I pledge to never judge a book by its cover! We are all human beings.  As are the people we meet with dementia.  They like us all have feelings and lived past lives.

I pledge to find out what is the love story of each of my clients I help look after.

My pledge is to have time and make the difference.
Suzanne Evans

I will engage with my staff across all wards to enable them to be the best they can be by 1) Ask what matters 2) Listen to what matters and 3) Do what matters.
Vicki Fillingham

I pledge to ask what matters to people and carers. To do what matters for people and carers.
Lucy Bates

I pledge to look/listen to the emotion behind the words of the person.

I pledge to teach others the importance of person centred approach and continue to put it in to action. To be kind, sensitive and using empathy.
Evie

I pledge to make a positive change in my home become a household model.
Liz Thompson

I pledge to continue to play a part in someone’s love story. Kindness is the key.
Lucy Bone

I pledge to become a special worker and anytime all these nice and new ideas I have heard today and make a difference.
Adelina Fetzer

I pledge to bring a smile to every patient, carer and family member I see every day. I pledge to see everyone as a human being with a story.
Jayne Hill

I will never forget the day I met Mrs Joan Whitelaw.
Arthur Calder

I pledge to ensure every moment with my clients is heartfelt and meaningful.
Janis Hill

I promise to really listen to peoples stories every day. To help me understand if services are doing what they should.
Jo Walsh

I pledge to be kind, to love and to be compassionate to everybody.
Edwina

I pledge to continue to make a difference to the lives of those suffering with dementia with the added knowledge of today’s forum.
Gail Leech

My pledge is to sit and listen to what the individual feels and to support this in my role and to continue the job I love with absolutely no thanks necessary.
Clare Drew

My pledge is to have time and actually listen and understand the need of people I care for. Be kind, considered and thoughtful.
Patricia Burke

I pledge to look beyond the visual and see the person. Always have time to listen.
Louise Rushton

I pledge not to stop until all my staff understands that feeling and knowledge matter most. Wendy Plant

I pledge to be kind, human, understanding ear – a good listener.
Robie Phillip

I pledge to encourage dignity champions. To treat people with dignity at all times.
J.C. Hearnden

I pledge to be more mindful of how complacent behaviour can have as significant impact on others.

I pledge to actively listen to people with dementia and their families/carers.
Pauline Page

I pledge to always remember the person (their life, dreams, hopes) and that the disease is secondary.
Jill

I pledge to look at the person behind the condition.
Stacey Finlay

After attending the Dementia Awareness Forum, which was just amazing, I pledge to listen more closely to all the residents in our home.
I will look beyond their dementia and focus on the person behind the mask.
I will always look at myself and question my actions before carrying them out.
I will offer love, compassion and understanding to everyone.
Mandy Longhurst

Thank you Team DCV 🙂

Read feedback from the day here: qualitative-feedback-from-the-official-north-devon-care-homes-team-education-forum-held-19-may-2016

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges
2 comments on “North Devon Pledge to Make a Difference
  1. Mandy Longhurst says:

    After attending the Dementia Awareness Forum, which was just amazing, I pledge to listen more closely to all the residents in our home.
    I will look beyond their dementia and focus on the person behind the mask.
    I will always look at myself and question my actions before carrying them out.
    I will offer love, compassion and understanding to everyone.

Leave a Reply

