Sharing stories during Carers Week

Its Carers Week and to pay tribute to that we would like to share a viewpoint from Dementia Carer Voices’ Project Engagement Lead Tommy Whitelaw.

In this post Tommy reflects and shares his thoughts on the inspirational film about our good friends Chris and Jayne Roberts that was shown on Panorama:

 

Someone asked me a few weeks back ‘what did I learn when caring for my mum who had dementia?’ I think the most important lesson my mum tried to teach me all my life  was that people are amazing and kind . 

Being kind is a gift we can all share, growing up you don’t always listen. I wish I had listened more, all of those years ago.

My mum living with dementia certainly helped me understand more about the kindness of people. I’ve been very lucky to meet incredible people every day through our project, talks, and travel-often leaving me thinking ‘I am so glad to have met you today.’

Two of those people are Chris and Jayne- we first met a few years back at a NHS EXPO Conference. We got chatting about my talks and life and Chris mentioned his diagnosis,

 

Chris and Jayne.jpg

 

I knew that day I had met two people who would be in my heart forever. Since then we have met many times at events,  and every time I hear them speak I travel home feeling glad to have met them again and to have listened.

Chris and Jayne do not just raise awareness about dementia and caring, they help you reflect and understand more about yourself and life.

I won’t try and tell Chris and Jayne’s story, they most beautify tell that by themselves especially in that most seminal hour last week on the Panorama special Chris’s story.

 

I learnt so much from my mum and we can all learn much from Chris and Jayne.

 

Thank you mum for once again introducing me to remarkable people like Chris and Jayne and thank you Chris and Jayne for introducing, and sharing your life story to the world.

You can watch the Panorama Special here.

Chris has also written poetry for us in the past, read his work here:

 

Thank you for reading, remember its ok to ask for help, #carersweek

 

Team DCV  x

 

Posted in 'Viewpoint' Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

