184 pledges from University of Central Lancashire

Friday Pledges!

Thanks to Paul Regan, Senior Lecturer University of Central Lancashire for inviting Tommy to speak to Pre-reg Nursing Students as part of the Universities welcome week.

We have had the honour to speak last year at the same welcome event for Eve Potts and we now have a permanent pledge wall at the University.  Thank you also to Roz Hargreaves a former students and now Nurse who the day before showed some of our films and came on the day to support Tommy.  

Thank you to the inspiring students for the wonderful messages on Social Media and truly inspiring 184 pledges below that will now be added to the wonderful pledge wall at the University.

Thank you from all the team at DCV

 image1

image2    image3

I pledge to listen and pay attention to each individual I care for and give them the best care possible.
Jan McGermott, Student Nurse

I pledge to remember the person behind the disease/illness
Shelley Grant, Student Nurse

I pledge to remember the person behind dementia. As long as I am a practising nurse I also pledge to make a difference in people’s lives for the better.
Katie

I will always see and hear the person. Ask them or their families bout who they are, what matters to the! They are a person, not a diagnosis.
Danielle Knowles

I pledge that I am going to listen carefully to each person in my care. To always treat them with kindness and passion. Show them empathy.

I pledge to mirror and replicate the love and support I have felt from my family; past and present, and to every single person I meet in my nursing career.
Tanya Warden, UCLAN Student Nurse

To listen to the people I care for, to go above and beyond to ensure I provide the best possible care and support that comes from within me, have some understanding of others. This is why I’m here today.
Amanda Hunt, Student Nurse UCLAN

Ask my patients questions and listen with a caring ear. See past the dementia and the person behind it.
Hannah, Adult Student Nurse

To always listen to my patient and offer help where I can, as well as a smile.
Adult Student Nurse

I pledge to treat carers and service users with dignity and respect and give time to find out how to do this properly.
Rebecca, Student Nurse (mental health)

I pledge to stand in your shoes and feel what you feel. To do what your situation requires. To do it from the persons perspective.

I pledge to always be caring and compassionate, to listen and always put the person first. And most importantly smile. #withpassionandintensity
Gemma Douns

I pledge to do everything in my power to improve individuals and their families’ lives.

I pledge to always find out who a person was, and who they want to be in the future. Caring for people as individuals not just dementia sufferers.

My pledge is to remember that I hold the power to make a positive difference through either a small kind gesture, word or action.
Stacey Horrocks, Nurse

To treat everyone I care for with the kindness and compassion that they deserve,
Jessica Wallace, Student Nurse

I pledge to deliver care to the best of my ability and support people emotionally and physically. Iram Hussain

My pledge is to remember why I’m the place of becoming a student nurse, the people and families I have helped along the way and the journey I have had already, the amazing people I have met and cared for and the difference I have made to people’s lives.

I pledge to take the time to listen and support those in the best way I can to help them to step forward and to be there for them. Helena Marsh

I pledge to listen to patient’s stories and be sensitive to them. Make each patient feel like the matter.

I pledge to listen to my patient’s and carer’s and try my best to provide the utmost care to them. I will help them with anything which can alleviate their physical and mental pain. Nisha

I pledge to care about each individuals love story, and to never walk past or close my eyes to someone who is reaching out their hand for help.

To never forget how every interaction, I have as a nurse with patients and their carers, can impact -and always aim to improve their lives for the better.
Marie Day, Student Nurse

I pledge to listen to patients and their loved ones and think of this when delivering their personal care.
Bethan Dickens, University of Central Lancashire

I pledge to strive to help those that need the help. I will not leave you alone in your confused state. I will be there when you most need me.
Ely

My pledge is to keep every person I care for and meet at the centre of everything I do for them and remove the stigma that attaches them to their health.
Laura Sedman, Student Nurse, UCLAN

To maintain my care and empathy towards others, before, during and after my career.
Jane, Student

To treat everyone how I would expect to be treated and how I would expect anyone to treat my friends and family.
Toni Andrew, Student Mental Health Nurse, UCLAN

To be a friend to everyone I meet.
Leanne Gerrard, UCLAN student nurse

I pledge to take time to get to know my service users and help continue their live story.
Sophie Taylor, Care Assistant UCLAN

I pledge that no one will leave my care feeling unloved or uncared for. They won’t feel ignored or alone. I will do everything I can to make them feel like the person they are and to cherish the life that makes them happy.
Katy-Jane Tyson, Student Nurse

My pledge is to pay it forward with kindness and remember the person inside, not the dementia. Samantha Stockell, HCA The Harbour, Blackpool (Bronte ward)/Student

I pledge to make people feel safe when they are scared. Make people happy when they are sad. Make people feel better when they feel ill and make people feel secure when they are lonely.

I pledge never to let anyone feel lonely or that they don’t matter and to make sure everyone has a voice.
Jess

I pledge to be ‘that’ consultant and ‘that’ nurse. To listen to the love stories and help them to continue to be love stories. To be the person I would like to be cared for by.
Victoria Wood, UCLAN Student Nurse

My pledge is to feel and understand the honour to be able to care for my patient and in return give them my care, love, empathy and attention to them and their families.
Joanna Pickering, Student at UCLAN & HCA at Blackpool Victoria Hospital

I pledge to care for every person I come across to the best of my ability , and to never make any patient or relative feel like they are alone and without help or support.
Jane Morris, Student Nurse

I pledge to be the light at the beginning, middle and end of everybody and anybody’s tunnel. And to be a positive important part of every love story. Sophy Smith

My pledge is to put the person at the centre of everything I do. Also to find out more about a person.
Caroline Leech, Student Nurse, UCLAN

I pledge to take the time and have the patience to understand what is important to that person I am caring for and learn who they are to alienate fears and doubts and brighten their day as much as a patient would enlighten mine.
Tayah Neild, Student Nurse

To take the time to listen to every single persons individual story.
Shannon Hodsonm Healthcare assistant and UCLAN Student Nurse

I pledge to provide the best care to each individual to the best of my ability and give them the support and care needed, never to feel alone.

I pledge to treat every individual with kindness and not discriminate against dementia. I will treat them with dignity, respect and compassion to not only the patient but also their carers, families and friends.
Helen Ball, Student Nurse, UCLAN

I pledge to listen to and advocate for the needs of patients and their families.

I pledge to listen to patients and their cares and find out about what matters to them.
Michelle, Student Nurse

I pledge to treat each and every person that comes into my care with all the dignity and respect that they deserve.
Danielle McHugh, Student Nurse

I pledge to not only be your nurse. I will also be your friend.
Laura Dean, Student Nurse, UCLAN

I pledge to care for others as I would my loved ones to be cared for.
Eleanor Hargreaves, Student Nurse UCLAN

I pledge to be that District Nurse Tommy spoke about in his inspirational talk. I want to make a difference and help people continue their love stories.
Sarah Beckley, Student Nurse (Adult) UCLAN

I pledge to ask questions and get to know the person I am caring for.
Katie Morris, Student Nurse/HCA

I promise to always lend an ear, listen, smile and always be kind to patients and their carers. Becca Hibbins, Student Nurse UCLAN

I pledge to make a difference to every individual I care for and treat them with such care, kindness and understanding they deserve.
Jayne Rennie

I pledge to make sure that I always see past the illness and treat them as they want and deserve to be treated and ensure their families feel welcome and believed in and treated with respect.  Meghan Hilton, Student Nurse-UCLAN

Today, I pledge to treat every person and patient with dignity and respect no matter who they are. To always deliver care the best that I can.

I pledge to never walk past, I will always listen to the story and show kindness in every aspect. I promise to always care

I pledge that every day I will strive to help, care and listen to every individual in my care.
Danielle Gray

I pledge to always see the person now the ailment and to find out something about every persons love story

I pledge to always show kindness to people with dementia and their carers

To treat those in my care as I would wish to be cared for, with respect, dignity and most importantly as an individual and not as an illness or disease.

To bring a moment of happiness and a feeling of safety for people who are going through dark and scary times.
Lucy Afflect, UCLAN

To listen and understand more of the family to make a difference.
Stephanie, UCLAN BSc Adult Nursing

My pledge is to listen to people, families and carers about their concerns and hopefully help resolve them.
Sheila Ohare, UCLAN BSc Adult Nursing

I pledge to find out what matters to patients and who they are beyond their conditions.
Mary Steward, Student Mental Health Nurse, UCLAN

I pledge that I will always put a person first and not their illness.
Shannen Maddocks, Student Nurse UCLAN

I pledge to make sure that I give dementia patients the time and attention that any other individuals deserve, and to not only look after their needs but to also be their friend.
Amelia Carlisle

I pledge to always be compassionate and take time to listen and learn more about each person and their life story.
Emily Eaton, Student Nurse UCLAN

I pledge to make a difference by being a human, kind and understanding ear to all service users that come my way.
Uzoma Judith Anazodo

I pledge to be more focus on patient’s voice, have more patience and understand what they are going through.
Marie

My pledge is to try and make a difference to at least one person’s day. To give strength, hope and compassion to somebody who is struggling.  To be that presence in someone’s life that provides support and understanding to their situation.

I pledge to always see the person first and do everything in my power to reduce the fear in both service users and families.
Abbie Billington

I pledge never to walk by and accept a standard below which I would not be willing to accept for myself or my loved ones.

I pledge to go out my way to help cares in their time of need. Stop you: Nothing.
Hannah Penny

I pledge to see the individual and not define a person to a disease or illness, and to listen to their cares and loved ones to see where they need help and how we can improve their care.
Vicky Hermes

I pledge to take time to find out about a person`s life story and help them to remember if I can. As a carer myself and a student burse, I pledge to continue to care for people to the best of my ability. Gemma Green

I pledge to always speak and listen to my patient best interest.
Betty Valentin

I pledge to take the time to ask peoples love stories.
Chloe Davies

I pledge to always try to empathise and understand every individual, to show kindness and care and if I cannot help find someone who can.
Chloe Lally

I pledge to always make time to listen to family to build a picture of the person I am caring for, about who they are.
Maxine

I pledge to always be the kind nurse I would want to care for me or my family.
Gill Beasley

I pledge to be caring and compassionate to the people with dementia and their carers whenever I have chances to meet them.

I pledge to approach every person I come across with an open mind and heart, with kindness and compassion alongside empathy.
Zahra Motala

I pledge to make every patient and family feel safe and always focus on the person not the condition.

I pledge to always try to be the light in someone’s darkest days.
Emma Phillips

I pledge to always try to make people smile in their unhappiest days.

I pledge to help people at their most vulnerable and to make them feel loved. To make a difference.

My pledge is to remember all those that I have cared for and build and share these experiences to become the best nurse that I can be.

I pledge to look past the illness and focus on the person and to celebrate their life.
Pandora Maighon

I pledge to always provide the best care to everyone who comes my way and treat all people as an individual. I hope to make a difference to everybody’s care.
Nicola Walsh

I pledge to care, listen and comfort each of my patients and their families as if they were my own family, out myself in their shoes.
Faz

I pledge to treat patients and their families with all the tenderness, care and respect that I would if they were my mother or father.
Gill

I pledge to see the person and the life story of every patient I meet.
Ashleigh

I pledge to care unconditionally for all my patients and cares that I come across, not only in my career but in my day to day life.
Natalie Colston

I pledge to be committed to providing quality care throughout my nursing carer, and strive to be the best I can be.
Natalie Tate

I pledge to always listen and to the best of my ability fulfil the needs of those people and aim to carry out their wishes. Above all to always, always care. Stop you: Not being able to work anymore in ill health.
Kelly Brindle

I pledge to treat patients who have dementia with the upmost respect. I pledge to use the perfect language when talking to patients and their families and listen to their lives, experiences and love stories.
Alice Holden

I pledge to carry on showing kindness, compassion and courage to those people and their families who are needing support. I will endeavour to treat people as individuals and not their illness or disability.
Bianca Bennett

My pledge is to always listen to people, care for them and make a point of their love stories.
Misha Kemp

I pledge to treat every person I come across with compassion, listen to them and understand who they care. To make a difference in their lives, no matter how big or small and be proud to be the nurse I am becoming.
Gabriella Salmon

I pledge to find out the story behand a patient and treat them with the dignity and respect they deserve.
Amy Russon

I pledge to get to know my service users more and to be more patient and understanding.
Alison Siddall

We pledge to care and support our patients with acts of kindness to make a difference.

I pledge to see the person, not the illness.
Sophie Murphy

As a carer/nurse, I would always put my patients and their needs 1st.  Bring some sense of comfort and a smile.

I pledge to listen, even to the words that aren’t spoken.
Charlotte Rogers

My pledge is to listen to them and give them essential care they need.

I pledge to be the best nurse I can be. I pledge to be kind and caring and I pledge to always be there and to listen to the people I care for.
Hasan Patel

My pledge is to become a nurse so that I can make a change to people’s lives who are not as fortunate as me.
Chris Wilkes-Gee

I pledge to treat everybody fairly and with the same care, no matter their illness and to provide the best can I can possibly give to make individuals feel comfortable and happy whilst in my company.  Cheryl Doyle

I pledge to take my time to get to know patients stories and preferences, to be able to structure care to each individual.
Chelsea Gravell

I pledge to be a part of peoples love stories. To make a big difference to each individual and their carers.
Claire Ratcliffe

I pledge to be the nurse that is remembered for making a difference.
Lauren Wylie

I pledge to try and keep Joan and Tommy`s love story in my thoughts and actions for ALL people I encounter in my personal and professional life.
Ibrahim Tanner

I pledge to make a positive difference to people’s life throughout my degree and job.

I pledge to give the best care i can to everyone who need it and to always put the patient first.

I pledge to listen to and support and understand cares and share good practice to improve people’s lives.
Rebecca Thomson

I pledge to treat all those that come under my care and their carers with dignity and respect that I would like myself and family to receive.

My pledge is to take time to listen to patents, cares, who ever need me when ever they need me.  Damien Tilford

I pledge to care for all individuals that I approach and care for them just as I care for my loved parents and just like Tommy cared for his mother, and keep my ears open to listen to all.
Jade Partingtion

I pledge to always take time to listen to my patients, to be kind and considerate and to always remember that they have a past, present and future.
Caroline Neary

I pledge to never leave without knowing I have done my best for every patient in my care.
Katy Price

I pledge to always care for not only the patient with dementia, but also care for and support their loved ones ad families affected.
Rebecca Townsend

I pledge to care for any individual to the best I can, just like Tommy Whitelaw cared for his mother, Joan Whitelaw.
Danielle Simpson

My pledge is to help and support every individual I meet, making a difference to people’s lives for the best. Making an impact of happiness in time of need.
Abbie Wood

I pledge to always put patient care first and take time to get to know them on a personal level. Seeing them more than just a diagnosis.
Sophie Dawson

I pledge to care for every individual, to know that each individual is different and is affected by illness differently.

I pledge to listen to cares. And learn someone’s life/love story rather than just someone’s medical story.
Bethany Jones

I pledge to listen to everyone’s opinion and do my best whilst in service and at home. I pledge to make people I influence know their voice matters.
Holly Killeen-Cudworth

My pledge is to not only care for the patient’s but for their family and friends as well. To see people as an individual, find out more about them and make them smile.
Brittany Wilson

I pledge to care not only for the patient but too the cares as well.
Emma Peckett

I pledge to give empowerment, support and compassion and to carry “the love story” forward and educate the importance of dementia awareness.
Michelle Hall

I pledge to find out about a person’s life story and who they are and spend the time to get to know them.
Lucy

My pledge is to listen to cares as well as the service user and take time out to learn about the individuals and what has brought them to us.
Zoe Holmes

My pledge is to show kindness to every patient I come across in my nursing career.
Roy Quayle

I pledge to make a difference not only to the lives of the patient’s, but also the lives of each and every carer.
Kelly Walsh

I pledge to help people with dementia remember what it feels life to be loved and part of a love story forever. Feel the emotion of love daily.
Sarah Hodgkiss

I pledge to try put myself in the shoes of the people I am around and recognise what I can do or say to help them.

I pledge to always be a helping hand, a warm smile and a listening ear. To bring comfort and care to whoever need it whenever they need it and to always stay grounded.

I pledge to see the magnificence and love story of everyone in my care. J
ane Vaudrey

I want to treat every single person I come across like I’d want my son, daughter, husband, brother, sister, mum, dad, grandma or grandad treat or care for.

I pledge to always be kind, and to always treat people how I would want to be treated, and to care for people how I would want my family to be cared for.
Rebecca Haslam

I pledge to smile at every person I meet and take the time to understand everybody’s story. To try take the darkest and fear from people heart and turn it into warmth, safety and friendship.
Amy-Louise Dunn

I pledge to do everything I can take that fear away from people who are crying out for help.
Kyle Wilkinson

I pledge to see, hear and understand the person I am caring for. I pledge to always see the person first and their loved ones.
Sheila Cullinane

I pledge to care, listen, understand and feel with all the patients, families and peers that I meet and to make someone smile when they feel like they no longer can. I pledge to make a difference. Georgina Orrell

I pledge I will always treat people with respect, dignity and kindness that I would like to be treated myself.

My pledge is to always treat the individuals as they are, always make sure I care and help people in their everyday life and be the best nurse I can be to help people we care for and families.
Chloe Clarke

I pledge to never forget the reasons I want to be a nurse. Always put myself in others shoes and care for them with the respect and dignity I would expect for myself when receiving care and any other day.

I pledge to take time to listen and make the time that people deserve.
Louise Boyle

I pledge as a student nurse to right the wrongs and replicate the rights experience by frank and Joan during their 6 years of living and dying with dementia.
Pauline G

I pledge to listen to the person and their carer, and take time to talk about a person’s life/wishes to help ease fear and to make a difference.
Hannah Payne

I pledge to put myself in the patient’s shoes always remember who they are and where they have come from, listen and to be kind.
Michelle Green

I pledge to treat families and patients with tenderness and care and to listen and take note of all their wishes.
Emma

I pledge to always go that extra mile to put a big smile on the patient’s and their loved ones faces and to give the best quality care that I can give.
Mollie Hutchinson

I pledge to never stop listening. I want to hear and listen to every thought, every feeling and every memory.  I will be the one who listens when no-one else will.

I pledge to look at the bigger picture and be “that nurse” that made a difference.
Jade Hartley

I pledge to always see the person first and the disease 2nd and to always ask how can I help you to make your day better.

I pledge as a dementia champion who works on an elderly ward. I will continue to give excellent care and treat each person as an individual.  To listen to all memories and build on those and to ensure I always give support to the carers and families.

I pledge that I will all care above and beyond what will be expected and to always do my very best as a nurse and a decent human.

I pledge to always be kind and mindful of the patients and people I meet.

I pledge to always put the person first and to never let their illness define who they are.

I pledge to be kind, and to never lose that kindness in all of my nursing career and lifetime.

I pledge to make a difference to people’s lives and their family. I also pledge to make people feel safe, happy and to make sure no one is alone.  To make sure that I put a smile on everyone face.

My pledge is to get through university so I can be that nurse that make a difference to an individual’s life. I will treat every person as an individual and I pledge to listen to people and to always be empathetic.  I will stop at nothing.
Gemma Carrol

I pledge to ensure everybody I meet is treated with respect and as the individual they are. I will listen and try to understand and help to the best of my ability.
Rachel Alliston

I pledge to try to make a difference to someone’s life every of my life. Even if its just a smile at a sad time.
Kelley Lanican

I pledge to be the kindest nurse I can be, to every person and patient I meet along the way. As in that moment it could mean the world to someone.
Jennifer Crook

I pledge to listen to every patient and their families as individuals and treat them with the respect and dignity they deserve.

I pledge that I will always be the best that I can go the extra mile with every single patient’s and cares that I come across. I want to make a change and make people matter.  Everyone deserve to live life to the fullest and not have by their illness.
Abbey Blamire

I pledge to put kindness at the forefront of all I do. I will aim to really listen to patients and their loved ones making time to get to know their stories.
E R Walker

I pledge to do my best each and every day to help anyone that I can.
Naomi Leppington

I pledge to treat everyone I meet with the love, care, dignity and respect that they deserve.
Chris

I pledge to treat all as I would like to be treated, always with a smile on my face and support families and cares alike in the best way possible.

I pledge to always remember why I became a nurse and to do whatever I can to make a difference to people’s lives every single day.
Amy Gilbey

I pledge to see and treat everyone as an individual person, rather than just a patient or medical conditions.

I promise to deliver patient-centred care, I pledge to listen, learn and show sensitivity, love and respect to all patients in my care.

I pledge to never give up, and to always go the extra mile for somebody that needs my help and support.
Olivia Jackson

I pledge to get to know all of my patients properly as well as their families and hear their voices. Katy

I pledge that I will try to be kind, a good listener caring and a helpful person to anyone I will meet along the way.
Myra Perez

As a student nurse I pledge to learn as much as possible so in the future I can make a difference.

I pledge to always do my best and give everything of myself to try and make a difference to others. Lorna Bramley

I pledge to always see the person with love and compassion.
Suzanne Marsden

I pledge to always show empathy, kindness and understanding for each individual I meet.

I pledge I will do everything to let those love stories carry on.
Hania

I pledge to never walk by, but to be there
Damien Chambers

All I can say is if the world had more people like Tommy in it, then it would be a better place. Your talk today truly touched my heart and spurred me on to be the kind of nurse your Mum deserved. I might have been too late for your Mum, but I pledge that I will be there for someone else’s Mum, and treat them with care, respect and dignity. Hopefully our paths will cross again at some point during my journey. I look forward to it 😄
Marie Day

I pledge to be the listening ear to both the individual and carers, also the soft touch reassuring smile (someone cares) and pass relevant information to those I come into contact with- each and everyone of us has a battle in life.
Diane

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges
One comment on “184 pledges from University of Central Lancashire
  1. […] at the university a few times before. You can read the pledges from previous visits HERE, HERE, HERE and […]

Leave a Reply

