DCV attends Care Makers Event

image2Dementia Carer RGB portraitALLIANCE logo

The first cohort of 55 Care Makers was recruited prior to the Chief Nursing Officer’s Conference in 2012, they made a commitment to supporting frontline implementation and delivery through the promotion of the new vision ‘Compassion in Practice’ and the values of the 6Cs associated with that vision.

Care Makers are ambassadors for the 6Cs, creating a unique link between national policy and strategy to frontline practice. The Care Maker programme aimed to capture the ‘spirit’ of London 2012, taking the lessons learnt from how the Games Makers were recruited, trained and valued and instilling the spirit of energy and enthusiasm they created.

On Friday 19th Feb, Dementia Carer Voices attended the Care Maker Celebration Conference, which was a chance to celebrate the value of Care Makers and showcase some of the remarkable work that has been happening in the past three years, especially how Care Makers have championed the 6Cs to drive the quality agenda as part of their caring role.  This was a great opportunity for Tommy to share his caring experience and the work we are doing in Scotland.

Image-1

image1 Care Makers

The conference brought together Care Makers, stakeholders, care providers, commissioners, regional and national teams as well as people who have benefitted from the programme. It was also a great opportunity for networking and sharing learning with colleagues.

Massive Thanks to Edge Hill University, NHS England – Care Maker programme central team, speakers and all those that attended.  You can read the passionate and inspiring pledge below along with What does being a Care Maker mean to you?

Click here for the Care Makers slide show summary.

I pledge to listen when someone is asking for help, never turn them away. If I can not help them to find out who can and put them in touch. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – To me it means making a difference no matter how insignificant it seems – Ilva Jones

I pledge to ensure that I practice with an open heart and an open mind, with my patients as well as my colleagues. And to always show the same compassion to the carers of my patients that I show to my patients. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Being a Care Maker makes me feel valued and valuable to the people I work with and the people I work for.  It immediately identifies me as someone who strives forwards excellent compassionate patient centred care – Melanie D`ardis

I pledge to use every opportunity to tell students and others I contact to listen to the what matters to you not what they thing we should do. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Holding true to the values of 6Cs demonstrating in practice – Joe McArdle

I pledge to hold your words in my heart and be open to letting them shape me every day that I care. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Furthering an ambition, every day to care more where it matters – Rosie Auckland

I pledge to continue to offer care and kindness to my aunt who I care for with dementia and all the people I come in contact with, through my life. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – It enhances and supports everything I say and do – Karl Roberts

I pledge to continue remembering why I entered the profession in 1985 and to carry on making a difference. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Understanding the value of individuals in families and societies – Debbie Winder

I pledge to listen and enjoy the company in which I’m in and just be more and make a difference to somebody’s day. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Everything I have a voice, a very quiet one at times but a voice – Rebecca Hemming

I pledge to try and to change the way people at work treat people with dementia. To help Mam (June) to care for Dad (Frank) more in any way I can.  Dads dementia (Mixed) is progressing fast and Mam is amazing but is going to need more help.  Love you Dad, probably have not told you in a while. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Everything, “Making a difference is such an important part of what I do.  The small things often mean the most – James Sullivan

I pledge I will use my own experience at work, offering support to carers. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Being part of something bigger and more important than myself – Patricia Cullen

I pledge to remember Tommy`s talk. Remember what it’s like as a granddaughter caring for my grandma with dementia when I’m caring for my patients. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Passion and celebration – Sherrie Hill

I pledge to always remember who and what matters to every individual – Becky Hoskins

I pledge to encourage all on the ward to play an active role in ensuring brilliant care for those who are vulnerable. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Everything, we go with care needs – Emma

I pledge to always remember the person behind the diagnosis. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Doing my best – J.Emmett

I pledge to give a voice to people with dementia. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Providing the best care to all who need it – Kerry Langton I pledge to walk alongside carers and people with dementia to never feel alone. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Keep the 6Cs always in the forefront of what I do – Carolyn

I pledge to listen to all the non-spoken words of every carer and patient living with dementia. To make their lives better. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Compassion of practice and patients first every time – Danielle Gillett

I pledge professional I will always see the person behind the patient and the care. Personally I will help my mum remain my mum to everyone who meets her. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – This is who I am and why I am a nurse.

My pledge is to ensure that everyone in society is cared for without prejudice. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Everything. Without it my job is absolute – Stacy Doherty

I pledge to help those I am fortunate to teach, understand first and foremost those we meet are beautiful, interesting and individual lives and to do all they can you help everyone realise this. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Being there to be a friendly face and voice and to listen – Graham Carter

I pledge in addition to seeing our patients as core part of the new team, I vow to do my best to include the carers as much as possible. I endeavour to listen to the cares more and develop better understanding of how they view their loved ones. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – Being proud of what we do.  Share our “love” of our professions with everyone else – Venus Kan

I pledge to the present with every person I meet and remember that their story matters. What does being a Care Maker mean to you? – To stand proud in my beliefs and not let others negativity affect me – Michaela

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

