Poetry Week Day 4: “Looking out of the window in a care home”

As poetry week continues, we warmly welcome back Chris Roberts who has written another exceptionally powerful poem whilst he was in respite. Chris has done some incredible work to raise awareness of dementia, and it’s a real privilege to share this with you all today. Thank you Chris.

Looking out of the window in a care home

I look out of the window, staring at the sky.
Just longing and wishing that I could fly

All the noise has gone and at last I can flee,
Leaving all my troubles, right behind me.

My eyes grow bigger, my mouth opens wide,
Into the white, beautiful clouds, I at last collide,

Spinning, turning, and flying carefree
I’m all on my own, just grinning with glee.

Then I fall and fall, screaming so loud
No longer feeling, so tall and proud

Just staring out of the window, looking at the sky,
And again Just Wishing, that I could fly,

And again, I cry !

Posted in 'Viewpoint' Blog Posts, Poetry Week
One comment on “Poetry Week Day 4: “Looking out of the window in a care home”
  1. carmodym59 says:

    Very powerful, Chris.

Leave a Reply

