Tommy and Irene speak to GCU #livedexperience #rights

Massive thanks to Dr Gill Constable, Lecturer of Social Work at Glasgow Caledonian University for inviting Dementia Carer Voices back again to speak to Second year MSc Social Work students who will shortly be qualifying as social workers on 8th of April.

This followed on from Tommy`s talk last week and were invited back to speak to more students along with our Project Director, Irene Oldfather. The session consisted of our Make a Difference talk followed by an interactive session on The Charter of Rights, making a pledge and the PANEL approach.

You view can Irene`s presentation from the day here, with useful links and information.

image1 image2

 

You can now view the pledges made from the day and big thanks to everyone who came.

Irene, Tommy, Sarah and Laura – Team Dementia Carer Voices 🙂

I pledge to support, encourage and motivate all those that I can to do better through my examples – Jacinta

I will never views someone as “Part of a caseload” – Lewis McCabe

My pledge is taking the time to understand and get to know the whole person I am working with – Eva Barry

I pledge to listen to your story and to try to support you and your family to the best of my ability – Christine Moriarty

I pledge to resist pressure from work commitments to ensure I take the time to listen to those I encounter – John Wood

My pledge is to remember that everyone is an individual – Teresa McDermott

I pledge to always see the person as unique and support them to continue to achieve – Claire

 

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

