2nd Year Nursing Students, University of the West of Scotland Ayr Campus Friday 19th Sept

photo 1

 

Great thanks to Susan Holland Lecturer/Practitioner in Mental Health Nursing at University of the West of Scotland for the invite to speak to 2nd year Nursing Students.  Tommy met Susan earlier this year on his tour with NHSAA.

A BIG Thank you also to Janice McAlister, Dementia Nurse Consultant for supporting and partnering with Tommy at the talks as part of the tour.

The University Runs a module “Care of Vulnerable” and Tommy was very inspired by the students he met last week.  There has been such a positive response from the students in person and online we have no doubt they are going to make great Nurses!.  It was fantastic to hear how many people took part in a Memory Walk in Ayrshire to raise awareness and money for people with dementia and their carers. This is another brilliant example of the work happening in Ayrshire and Arran and peoples` commitment to making a difference.  You can find more information about the walk here.

 

photo 5

 

Thank you #OurFuture for the time, kindness and for the personal pledges.

You can read all the inspiring pledges here:

I promise to focus on the little, meaningful things when caring for an individual and take time to listen to them, their family and their carers – Be part of their love story – Lauren Cooper

I pledge throughout my nursing career to always listen and be there for people with dementia and their families – Almas Chowdhury

I pledge throughout my nursing studies/career to always help, protect and support people with dementia, their carers and families – Hanane O`Neill

A listening ear for anyone who needs it. Along with asking what they need – Colin Hyslop

I pledge my time and patients to all my patients including dementia patients. I will try my hardest to meet all their needs and do things the way they would want – Leanna McLeod

I will always make a difference in the people`s life’s I meet and ensure I will educate myself and others about dementia – Heather Campbell

I pledge to treat every patient including those living with dementia with the same dignity and respect that I would expect my own loved ones to be treated with – Paula Rodger

I pledge to take time to get to know from carers and relatives of dementia sufferer’s likes and dislikes and history of their life in order to get more person centred care across.

My pledge is to always put myself in others position, making sure that they are as comfortable as I can help them be.

My pledge as a nurse I will care for the patient and the carers as a complete package, listening with compassion and promise to support – Kay Sharp

I pledge to understand and listen to the people involved in making dementia a high concern.

I pledge to give patients/carers who have dementia extra time and make myself available to chat anytime possible – Kayleigh McEwen

I pledge to listen to each and every one of my patients love stories and make a difference – Eve Bell

I pledge to be a nurse who gives time to all patients and give them a voice. No matter their illness they are a person, a mother/father, daughter/son etc – Sarah Johnstone

I pledge to be a listening ear and to care for dementia sufferers and their family. I will be compassionate and promise to satisfy all needs that I can – Natalie Rutherford

I will make time to listen to both carers and families and pass on any knowledge that will help make life easier.

My pledge is to always listen to each and every patient, get to know them and make a difference – Adele Keir

My pledge is no matter how busy I am I will take the time to listen to the patients and their carers – Stacey Wilson

I pledge to listen to the stories, about their life and love and understand the importance and change this can make to someone’s care – Rebecca Penman

My pledge is to give people with dementia the care that they and their families deserves and listen to the family – Amy Elizabeth Singleton

I pledge to be a nurse that is remembered for the right reasons and to make sure I know who everyone under my care are – Emma Hunter

I will take the time to listen to you and do my very best to put you at ease no matter how busy I am – I will make the extra time – Jillian McKenna

My pledge is to listen with compassion and do everything I can to help and change the life of a person with dementia – Tracey Page

My pledge is to gain knowledge of how to care for people with dementia and their carers before I qualify and importantly to always ask how do you feel about that ? – Rebecca McKie

I pledge to try and make a difference, no matter how small to everyone I care for. Especially their carers. They`re doing great – Susannah Muir

My pledge is to be a nurse who will make a difference. To notice people in their time of need and take the time to help and support – Joanna Slight

I will always try to be the `one` who listens, the `one` with the hand on my patients shoulder – Lindsey Sands

My pledge is to always give time to all who needs it and do it with a smile – Emma Miller

I pledge to take the time to learn who I am caring for and help them remember who they are – Stacy Lindsay

My pledge is to provide the best care and support to both patients and families – Steven Graham

My pledge is to always recognise that carers are vulnerable to – Michelle Mason

My pledge is to always see the person before the illness – Nicole Hay

I pledge I will always do my best to support people who suffer from dementia as well as their family and friends who care for them.

I will always make sure to ask carers how they are feeling, assure them what they are doing is important and appreciated – Terri Lambert

I pledge to be that person that makes a difference – Nicola Blair

My pledge is to make sure I get to know any individual I care for and the person they were before dementia.

I pledge to be caring and compassionate to all the people I meet suffering and living with dementia and those who care for them – Annie Leitch

My pledge is to always see the person behind the diagnosis and to find out “what matters to that person today”? – Jaqueline Watt

I pledge to work my hardest to qualify and become a Mental Health Nurse, so that I can make a difference in people’s lives. But whatever happens I will always work in care and try my best to make a difference – Louise Moore

My pledge is to be mindful of others and treat others the way I would wish to be treated – Derek Steed

My pledge is to become a great nurse and never become lazy in my job/career. I would like to always be approachable and available to listen to hopefully help someone and make a difference – Pauline O`Rourke

My pledge is to be the person today, tomorrow and every day after that, that stands out in people’s minds for making a positive difference to their life – Susan Richmond

My pledge as a nurse is to always give people in my care the time to listen, and do my best to help fulfil/recognise their values and what is important to them.

My pledge is to “be that person” and make the difference I can when I become a nurse and support, care and protect people with dementia and their families – Holly McFarlane

I pledge to listen to others and go the extra mile to help someone in need – Hollie Weir

I pledge to listen to others in an understanding way to make a difference to their lives – Shannon Lay

I pledge to listen to patients, families and carers. Put them first and let them know they are our priority.  We are the carers carer – Sarah Easdon

I pledge to listen as carers voices their worries and fears and do my very best to help them – Siobhan Lamb

My pledge is to always listen to carers who are experts in the person they are caring for- Diane McDowall

I pledge to always listen and try to understand how carers/the individual is feeling and to always provide care to the best of my ability – Jenna Grant

My pledge is to listen, care and support. To never let anyone feel lonely of helpless.  I promise to be that help – Aimee-Lee Robert

My pledge is to listen to be able to make a difference in person`s life at times of need.

I will strive every day to help and care for every individual the very best that I can. Including their family and get to know them as a person – Julie Marshall

My pledge is to be kind, courteous and understanding to everyone I meet. Be open, listen and be approachable and help the very best I can to be able to help in whichever way I am – Sam Fletcher

My pledge is to make sure each and every person is treated as an individual and treat them how they deserve to be, with respect and dignity. I will treat each person like I would my family – Lousia Emilsson

I hope to make the person experiencing dementia feel loved, appreciated and a valued member of society – Fiona McAulay

My pledge is to continue my studies and become “the district nurse” to always listen, show compassion and be a good part of their story – Gemma Boyle

I pledge to take peoples preference and concerns into consideration and try my best to uphold dignity and respect.

I pledge to always respect an individual’s dignity and be caring and compassionate.

I pledge to ensure I always treat people as a human being with kindness, compassion and respect. How I myself would want to be treated – Gemma Seaton

My pledge is to lend an ear and listen to every patient I come into contact with – Aimee Ferrans

My pledge is to recognise needs not only in patients but un families/carers and to support and organise support for them to the best of my ability – Catriona McGhee

My pledge is to always take the time to listen and understand – Patricia Paterson

My pledge is to spend time every day to listen to someone’s story and try to make a small difference – Kirsty Wise

My pledge is to remember that sometimes the smallest things are the most important or significant – Stephanie Roberts

My pledge is to care for my patients and provide all the support for their families to ensure they are not alone – Jennifer McDevitt

My pledge is to take the time to listen to and try to understand all patients and try to support the families involved – Rachel Marlene Hardie

I pledge to stop and listen to peoples stories, just to be an ear for them. This includes the person and the family and be supportive towards them – Mark McEwan

My pledge is to be your arm around you, your ear to listen and your voice to care- Derek Delany

I pledge to provide ears to listen and hands to hold – Kayleigh Crossan

I promise to put my hand on the shoulder of every family member I meet of someone living with dementia or caring for them, just so they know I am there – Catherine Strain

My pledge is to take time to smile J and ask how my patients is, always showing respect and kindness – Lynn Aitken

I pledge to listen, care and help in any way I can, to anyone affected by the everyday tragedy of dementia – Beth O`Ware

I promise to always give anyone a chance to be understood – Rachel Gemmell

I pledge to listen to every patient’s needs, wishes, hopes and dreams. I promise to make a difference – Erin Bayne

My pledge is to always take the time to ask what a person was life before dementia and listen to what they say – Lisa Fergusson

I pledge to provide person-centred care to all people I meet, giving them time and hopefully providing them with an understanding listener – Abby Rutherford

My pledge is to provide the best possible care for each individual, through listening to the individual and their family – Chloe Kerr

I pledge to help, care and listen to people with dementia and the carers, families and everyone involved in their life – Laura Newbigging

My pledge is to become an effective nurse who can make a difference in people’s lives who have dementia – Andrew

I pledge that I will always offer a shoulder to cry on and an ear to listen to everyone – Connor Cannell

I pledge to make a difference by taking the time to ask and listen about people living with dementias past, their loves and lives – Gillian Houston

I pledge to not only be there for the person, but be there for the family and make a difference – Lauren McCallum

My pledge is to make a difference by making someone smile and taken the time to get to know my patients – Sarah Houston

I pledge to be there to lend a listening ear and support anyone who needs it – Kayleigh Howie

My pledge is to listen, ask and be there for patients, their carers, family and to do as much as I can to help them either as myself or a nurse – Claire McCulloch

My pledge is to listen to each person I come in contact with and treat them as an individual, communicating with friends and family to get the best understanding of who this person is – Shannon

As long as I am here you will never feel alone – Ramab Anderson

My pledge is to always be there for someone so that they never feel alone – Ian Lowry

I pledge in my career to never turn my back on a person and to make it my life to help and care – Christopher McDade

I promise to listen, protect and eliminate fear from those in doubt and shadows – Mesha Gillespie

I will listen to be there for support and be a shoulder to cry on for patients and their families – Nicola Morrison

I pledge to listen and understand patients and carers about their problems and help them as best I can, put myself in their position – Hannah McArthur

I pledge to listen to the patient and carer, to understand and support the best I can and to go that extra mile – Michelle Lidington

I pledge that I will always try to ask and to listen to what people need.

I pledge to make the biggest difference to any person I care for’s life. Give all my support and always listen – Kirsty Sharkey

I pledge to make a difference to everyone’s lives who are affected by Dementia that I come into contact with – Geordan Little

My pledge is to listen and recognise what isn’t being said – Caroline Deighan

I pledge to never forget the person, life and memories that a person with dementia has had before diagnosis – Emily Bradbury

I pledge to have the patience and understanding to assist dementia sufferers and their carers to reach their full potential – Kirsteen O’Rourke

I pledge to listen to the person as well as the carer. To have time to be that ear to listen – Laura Jane Worthington

I pledge to ensure that all care I deliver to those who are affected by dementia is person centred and holistic – Shannon McEvoy

I pledge to facilitate training that would enable future nurses to care with compassion for people with Dementia and their families and cares – Raymond Dzingai Ndengeya

I pledge to do my best for all people with dementia that I come across throughout my life – Graham McLardy

I pledge to take the time to talk to and get to know everyone I care for – Rebekah Waddell

I pledge to treat anyone I care for with any form of cognitive impairment with respect and dignity and as an individual – Nicola Ramsay

I pledge to listen and to work to the best of my ability to help, support and care for people with dementia – Monica Pieroni

I pledge that no matter how busy I get, I will always take time to listen and help – Scott McKinnon

I pledge that I will use my communication skills to recognise when people need just a little extra help. To take time to go that extra mile for those people – Josephine McNabb

My pledge is to do everything in my power to ensure no-one feels alone, and to always remember to tell people what a good job they are doing whether in illness or caring – Grace Sinclair-Sherratt

I pledge to be caring and compassionate throughout my full career, always know the person’s background and to listen to the person and the family/carers – Heather Anderson

I pledge to be a listening ear for carers. To be understanding and helpful throughout my career – Katrina McSkimming

I pledge that I will always treat my patients with the upmost respect and dignity that they deserve – Amy Smith

I will do everything I can to find out who a person used to be, who they were, and who they still are. I will ensure every day that I do all I can to help them remain that person and do things that make them ‘them’ – Amy Bannon

I pledge to be the person that people remember, and to be there for people to use as a shoulder to lean on – Annette McCarron

I will be a listener for anyone and everyone who needs me. I will offer my time and help to make people feel important – Gillian McHarg

I pledge to see the person and not the disease; to be there if someone needs a hand to hold or an ear to listen – Alison Macleod

I pledge to always get to know people as individuals and to help them and their carers as much as I can – Gillian Ayre

My pledge is to do everything in my power to help, support, listen and make a difference on every hour of every shift – Claire Paton

I pledge to always treat people as an individual, maintaining their dignity and individual personality – Angela Ritchie

I promise I will be the best student nurse and one day the best nurse I can be. I will always take the time to get to know the individual and not just see the illness – Lucy Brashmuir

I pledge to listen to carers and let them know they’re not alone. I will be there to listen, be a shoulder to cry on and help as much as I can. I will make sure services don’t let you down and provide you with as much knowledge and advice as possible – Katie Fairley

I pledge to be a caring and understanding nurse as well as a shoulder to lean on and a friend to listen – Emma Dinning

I pledge to try brighten someone’s day as many times as possible. To make them feel worthwhile – Kelly McCrorie

I pledge to be a shoulder to lean on, to listen and support people who need me – Kirsty Hughes

I pledge to listen to all the people under my care without prejudice and be there for them in any way that I can. Always take time.

My pledge is that every patient, family member or friend I come into contact with knows I am an ear to listen, a shoulder to cry on and that I will do everything in my power to help them in every possible way – Chanley Strain

I pledge to listen and try to be there for someone so that they feel less alone and be someone they feel they can talk to – Eibhlin Murphy

My pledge is to listen to people and do everything I can to make their lives easier – Lynn Aldred

I pledge to help you find your voice, and help you to be the person you were/are – gemma Davidson

I pledge to always take the time to find out who yo are and about your life – Carole-Ann Scott

I pledge to try every day to make a positive difference in any person’s life I can. Make the world smile – Michelle Young

I pledge to do my best to make life easier for dementia sufferers and their families in any way I can – Lauren Milroy

I pledge to take the time to listen to patients with dementia and their carers and ask about them as a person – Jennifer Cantwell

I pledge to always be there to hold your hand and help you find your way – Lorna Anderson

I pledge to treat everyone I meet with respect and dignity. Put myself in their shoes and their family and friend’s shoes – Cassie Hornby

I pledge to listen and give people that time and respect they deserve – Christine Pollock

 

Thank you Team Dementia Carer Voices 🙂

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges
One comment on “2nd Year Nursing Students, University of the West of Scotland Ayr Campus Friday 19th Sept
  1. […] Tommy has had the great privilege to speak at the Ayr campus before you can read the pledges from 2014 Here and 2015 here. […]

Leave a Reply

