Dementia Friends/We can make a difference session

We are privileged to share this truly inspiring example of the power of one individual and the difference they can make. Tommy, Irene, Sarah and Laura would like to say a massive thank you to Roz, who embodies what Make a Difference is all about.

Roz was at a Make a Difference talk, and decided to share what she had heard with 450 students and asked all of them to make a pledge to make a difference in the lives of people with dementia and their carers. The response was overwhelming, and we would like to say from the bottom of our hearts, thank you.

Here are some words from Roz, who tells us about the event from her perspective and how Tommy`s story and those who have written to him shaped the session, and inspired her to make a difference.

 

Dementia Friends/We can make a difference session

On Wednesday 10th September I stood in front of around 450 students for an hour, who started on their nursing career. I was nervous standing there with all these faces looking at me.

I opened the session asking them in one word what they knew about dementia. Words that came out was confusion, frightened, alone, sad, lost etc. These describe how someone living with dementia feels on a day to day basis.

I showed the students (I want to put newbies) a video around the bookcase analogy, to help them understand about dementia how a person can forget about an event but the feelings can still be lasting.

During the session I had a few of them standing in front of the rest of the cohort, I gave them a piece of paper with who they are. I then read out statements where they had to decide if they could complete a task or make a decision. At the end of this I then revealed that they were all the same person.

We can make a difference

I talked to the group about how it is for the people caring for their relatives living with dementia, how they feel, I showed two videos of Tommy Whitelaw on how it had been for him, from the point of diagnosis to getting the support that both his mum and he required. The other video was the one Tommy showed up in Middlesbrough the previous week. Though this video was showing the scale on how many people in Scotland are living with dementia, I wanted to give an indication of how big dementia is nowadays, to how it was years ago in the 80’s when my own nanna had dementia. On behalf of Tommy I asked the students to get a piece of paper and write down a pledge that they would do to support a person with dementia and their carers, and pin it on the board provided, place it in front if there was no room. At the end of the session I received good feedback regarding the session on how much they enjoyed it and now have a greater understanding of dementia than they did before.

Once all the students left, I was overwhelmed by how many students had left a pledge, and on reading some of their pledges, I feel happy and honoured to have included Tommy’s Story into my Dementia Friends session.

Thank you Tommy for allowing me to share your story.

Rosalyn Hargreaves

Qualified Nurse

 

photo

 

From this we received a massive 266 pledges made to Dementia Carer Voices and once again we would like to thanks every single on of you for thinking abut #makingadifference

 

Here are the magnificent pledges:

    • I pledge that I will support and create awareness to as many dementia awareness groups as possible and spread the awareness as much as I can.
    • Pledge to dementia – When exposed to dementia, I will not judge, I will take the time to listen, learn and appreciate what that/those people have been through and experienced.
    • I pledge to be more aware of dementia and never to be judgemental and to help those that need it.
    • I promise to listen, care and understand.
    • I pledge that I would give my utter care and support to woman and men who have got dementia also there carers too.
    • I promise to raise awareness for carers and their loved ones with dementia so people understand what they may go through in day to day life J
    • Treat everyone with dementia as an individual and carer for their needs. Help carers spread the word. Try and make sure carers are given enough support.
    • I pledge to expand my knowledge and understanding of dementia and raise awareness.
    • I pledge to be more understanding and supportive towards dementia sufferers and their carers/family.
    • I pledge to give as much care as I possibly can to those with dementia and support their families/carers as much as I can.
    • Listen to those who have or no someone with dementia.
    • I pledge to listen, care, be compassionate and raise awareness of dementia to others.
    • Teach other people about dementia (raise awareness)
    • To be caring, understanding and to raise awareness.
    • To promote and make people more aware of the struggles and difficulties people with dementia suffer with and all the people affected by dementia.
    • My pledge is to hashtag dementia friends on twitter to raise awareness.
    • Raise awareness with friends and family.
    • Spend more time with a relative with dementia
    • I pledge to always help were possible and to be supportive, empathetic and respectful to cares and dementia sufferers.
    • To be aware of the effects of dementia within families, groups and communities.
    • I pledge to take the time to listen to a service user suffering with dementia and to make that person feel safe and be able to be themselves.
    • I pledge to try to be more aware of dementia and have patience and time for those affected by the disease.
    • To pledge to make more awareness of dementia and to make aware of the help dementia patients need and how carers of dementia patients need support as well.
    • I will treat everyone with dementia with respect, dignity and as individuals. Listen, take time and understand. Ensure they have a happy life.
    • My pledge is no to get frustrated with family who have dementia, be more understanding. Try to be more supportive of cares and families.
    • My pledge is to treat them with the same respect and kindness that I would do anyone else.
    • Both my parents have dementia. I visit them regularly but today I’ll take them a cake J
    • I pledge to make myself and others more aware of dementia and those affected by it by reading, watching and listening to things around me and sharing what I learn.
    • My pledge is to help many patients and families with dementia. I have already helped many people with dementia at Wigan Hospital and promise to carry the good work on.
    • I pledge to make sure that the services offer as a student nurse and when qualified are dementia friendly.
    • I pledge to listen to the needs of a patient or carer dealing with dementia.
    • Try to raise more awareness of dementia and the number of people who care for those with dementia.
    • Raise more awareness for people to understand how dementia affects the person and their families.
    • I pledge to try and to understand the feelings, needs and beliefs of carers so that this can be used to decrease their anxieties when they come into health services I am involved in.
    • I will always try to show compassion and empathy towards those affected by dementia.
    • I pledge to pass on what I have learnt today to other people, kids, family and in placement.
    • I pledge to treat all people with dementia the same and to listen and give time to them.
    • I pledge to ask questions when I don’t understand – Leanne
    • I promise to make every individuals loves with dementia a happy one.
    • Spend more time speaking with visiting family members who suffer with dementia.
    • To find out more about Alzheimer’s/Dementia to increase my understanding, to enable better support.
    • My pledge to people with dementia and carers is to listen and to understand more.
    • Be more aware of dementia and give more support to carers.
    • To promote dementia awareness around the UK and make not only the patient but the carer not feel isolated.
    • I pledge to promote awareness of dementia to people who may not realise the extent of how patients and their carers can suffer.
    • To try and help people with dementia in the best way I can – Katie
    • Listen with patience and empathy.
    • I pledge to be more understanding.
    • I pledge to make people aware.
    • Offer compassion, kindness and understanding. And to treat that patient as a person and individual.
    • I pledge to gain a better understanding of dementia which will enable me to educate others.
    • I pledge to follow dementia links such as Facebook and Twitter and share amongst people I know to cause awareness and to visit my granddad more to make his emotions continue positive.
    • I pledge to listen and signpost to help available.
    • Gain better understanding and help others to gain better understanding in order to help people with dementia.
    • I pledge to be a good listener.
    • I pledge to visit my nana more.
    • I would provide them with contracts for professional advice and raise awareness.
    • I pledge to raise awareness amongst the people I know regarding dementia.
    • To gain more knowledge about dementia and give dementia patients and family all the support they need.
    • To be more aware of dementia and more sympathetic to those affected.
    • I pledge to learn more about dementia to get a better understanding of it.
    • I pledge to become a dementia friend.
    • I will listen and support all those affected by dementia and try to help raise awareness of the condition.
    • I will listen and try my best to understand the situation they are in. Nobody can judge a situation that they have never been in.
    • I will make time to listen to people who care for those with dementia, and hear how it affects their lives on a daily basis.
    • Listen, learn, empathise and care.
    • I pledge to try and help someone who is dealing with the effects of dementia.
    • I pledge to be non-judgemental and offer the respect and patience to people with dementia – Danielle
    • I pledge that I will care for those who have dementia and be someone who can listen to their problems and worries.
    • I pledge to become a dementia friend.
    • My pledge is to take time to listen and support individuals and carers dealing with dementia.
    • I pledge to learn more about dementia, in order to educate people who may not know much (or anything) about the disease, so they have a better understanding of it.
    • I pledge to help with dementia care in the community and try and raise awareness. I can volunteer to help with the local Thursday coffee morning.
    • I promise to always treat them with the respect and dignity they deserve.
    • I pledge to pass on the information I have learnt about dementia to other individuals and raise awareness.
    • I pledge I am going to help raise awareness of dementia and dementia carers.
    • I pledge to make myself and others more aware on dementia and the effects it has on the individuals and others around them.
    • I pledge to raise awareness of dementia.
    • I pledge to raise awareness and make them heard.
    • I pledge that I will give dementia suffers and their carers the most care and support that I possibly can – Kayley Anderson
    • I pledge to provide support and someone to talk to in time of need – Sacha Wood
    • I pledge to try to understand people who suffer with dementia and offer support to those and their carers – Emma Summer
    • I pledge to listen and understand a person with dementia.
    • I pledge to support dementia awareness by supporting families in my area.
    • Look into dementia to build more of an understanding around how it affects us and the relatives/friends involved.
    • I pledge to raise awareness and make sure there is help for both people with dementia and their carers too.
    • Give time to someone and listen to what they have to say.
    • I pledge to be understanding of dementia patients on placement and in my career.
    • I pledge that I will always do my best to understand and empathise with the sufferers of dementia. The victims which include their families/carers, and support anyone who needs the help they need and deserve.
    • I will explain what I understand about dementia to educate others that don’t understand.
    • I Reece Doonan pledge that I will do everything in my best interest to raise awareness of dementia and get everyone to understand that there is help available, you`re not alone.
    • I pledge to raise awareness around dementia and the struggles both the carers and the person with the illness face before and during being diagnosed.
    • To do more research into dementia and dementia care – Amanda Jayne
    • To provide more care and support towards family and friends suffering or caring for someone with dementia – Laura Beveridge
    • I will offer support and comfort towards carers for people with dementia.
    • I pledge to support them physically and emotionally where I can.
    • Raise awareness of dementia and who it affects.
    • I will make sure my dementia patients at work don’t feel scared or alone and reassure them they are ok. Also try and give them the kindness and happiness they deserve.
    • I pledge to listen to the sufferers of dementia and their carers about anything they would like to talk about and treat them like normal people who are just looking for someone to talk to.
    • Share the book case analogy with friends to raise awareness.
    • Offer support to carers and dementia sufferers.
    • I promise I will always be grateful for people that care for people with dementia.
    • I promise to take part in events to raise awareness of dementia and for their carers to have the right level of support they need.
    • I pledge to support people who are affected by dementia and to raise awareness.
    • I pledge to raise awareness and to also listen to the people who may suffer with the disease and also their carers/family and friends.
    • I pledge to help and support dementia sufferers and their carers in any way possible. And do my best to make any dementia sufferers as comfortable as possible when in my care- Jess Foulds
    • I pledge to treat every person with dementia as a human being and not a disease – Jenny Mattershead
    • I pledge to treat all people with dementia as I would treat anyone else and take time to listen to and value their opinions.
    • See people with dementia behind their disease for who they are.
    • Learn more about husband’s version of dementia and how to help him more appropriately, practically.

 

    • I pledge to help people with dementia and their carers and loved ones not feel so alone.
    • I pledge to listen and take time out to support both those people with dementia and the people such as friends and family who are affected by this too.
    • To see the person, their thoughts, their feelings and the individual who they are.
    • I Elizabeth Alice Bentley pledge to raise awareness of dementia and the lives affected by it, in the hope of finding a solution and sure and increase the support needed.
    • I pledge to be more supportive to carers and raise awareness.
    • I pledge to support and understand dementia and those with dementia and caring for someone with dementia.
    • To understand more of what they`re going through and what they`re carers have to go through.
    • I pledge to support carers and understand dementia.
    • I William Curwood-Cameron pledge to raise awareness of dementia in the hope of finding a cure and support for the individual affected and their families.
    • I pledge to be patient.
    • I pledge to be more open towards dementia and respect the carers involved.
    • Build relationships and helping people with dementia to get back into the community.
    • Be supportive to the person and carer, not judge. Learn what that person can do on a one to one basis.
    • I pledge to be understanding and supportive to both the person with dementia and their carers.
    • I pledge to take the time to talk to relative of people with dementia and make myself aware of help provided.
    • I pledge to respect and consider the feelings of each person suffering with dementia and also support the people who are caring for them. I also will take the time to gain extra knowledge and awareness.
    • I pledge to log onto dementia friends to see how to volunteer and donate. Talk about dementia with family and friends.
    • I pledge that I will be there to support people with dementia and their families and offer any advice and assistance that I can – Rowan

 

    • I pledge to be patient and compassionate.
    • That I will support the family of the person with dementia as well as the person.
    • To be more understanding and spread awareness.
    • That I will try hard to listen and make it know they are not alone.
    • As a carer I would help to manikin the dignity of patients with dementia to assist and promote their health and wellbeing.
    • I promise to be patient and try to understand.
    • Raise more dementia awareness and how it affects people and their families.
    • I pledge to become a dementia friend.
    • I pledge to always be considerate and open minded.
    • Offer support to families of the residents I care for. Get dementia more support.
    • I would help to promote dignity, show compassion, be a companion and also help to promote dementia awareness.
    • I promise to support and understand people with dementia and their family and friends.
    • Take time to listen.
    • I will raise more awareness on dementia in support of Tommy and all the family and carers affected not forgetting the dementia sufferers.
    • To treat people with dementia with the same respect and dignity as any other human being.
    • I pledge to always try and be open minded and considerate. To make myself and others more aware of dementia. Tommy`s story really touched me and before today I never knew over 80,000 were affected by this terrible disease.
    • I pledge to try to understand the illness better and to give the affected carers a break once in a while.
    • I pledge to spend more time with my gran who has Alzheimer’s and share some of the load with my mum and dad.
    • I pledge to give more time to consider peoples’/patients’ emotions that have dementia so they leave the room with a smile on their face.
    • I promise to listen to carers and treat a dementia sufferer with respect.
    • I aim to pursue a career helping those with dementia.
    • I pledge to raise awareness of the disease affecting my local community.
    • I pledge to support anyone affected by dementia. I pledge to find out more about early onset dementia and its effects on individuals and families. I also pledge to make more of an effort to see the person – not the condition.
    • I pledge to help raise awareness of dementia and to expand my own knowledge and that of others. I pledge to support my neighbours and be more aware of problems that may occur.
    • In my healthcare career, I will assist in the help and support of a person with dementia, I will try my utmost to ensure that they are stimulated regularly and interact with other individuals. I will also endeavour to learn more about dementia and the various types.
    • I will increase my knowledge of dementia in order to help and support sufferers of the disease.
    • I pledge to listen to the feelings and emotions felt by both dementia sufferers and their families and carers, and to offer support where possible.
    • I pledge to listen to their feelings and support those with the brain disease the best I can, showing my understanding.
    • I will take time to care and raise awareness.
    • I pledge to help raise more awareness for dementia and a dementia cure!
    • I pledge to offer support to both sufferers and carers.
    • I pledge to listen instead of just nodding.
    • I pledge to raise awareness of dementia; listen and take time for dementia individuals.
    • My pledge to help people with dementia is to raise awareness to the people in my family, where they can also go spread the word, to all become dementia friends together as a family (I have an extremely big family around the UK and the rest of the world) so I will spread the word, provide support and help as much as I can to make more dementia friends.
    • I pledge to raise awareness and support families and carers affected by dementia.
    • I pledge to raise awareness and educate people about dementia.
    • O pledge to make time to listen.
    • I pledge to raise more awareness for not only dementia patients but carers.
    • I will show compassion and listen.
    • I pledge to raise awareness for dementia patients and carers and have a better understanding of dementia.
    • My pledge would be to educate people about dementia by using the bookcase theory to give people a better understanding about dementia.
    • I pledge to help support and care for people suffering from dementia when on placement, work or personal life.
    • I pledge to always be aware and open minded about a person’s individual circumstances, and to take time to listen, learn and understand more about all the different types of dementia. I pledge to share my experience of having a family member with dementia; my beautiful mother-in-law, Isabelle Porte – Jo-Anne Porter
    • I pledge to give the individuals with dementia enough love to ensure they never feel alone. Also I pledge to give the individuals the independence that they can have.
    • I will ensure that dementia patients receive the care they deserve and also carers receive respite and help they need to care for their friends and family.
    • Listening to people with dementia, talking to them.
    • I pledge to prevent dementia and tell others about the consequences of dementia, so that people treat the elderly with lots of care and protect them.
    • I promise to show those with dementia positive actions which they will then perhaps associate with love, care and happy feelings!
    • I promise to listen, care and understand.
    • I promise to show support and promote awareness of the disease. If I come into contact with someone with the disease try to make a little difference in their day at least.
    • I promise to always show care and support to both those who are suffering from dementia and also those caring and surrounding the individual who is suffering with dementia.
    • I pledge to help raise awareness and support those with dementia and their carers.
    • I pledge to educate myself on dementia and to offer support when possible.
    • I pledge I will spread the awareness of dementia and how you can get help in many ways; Facebook, talking to people etc. This is the subject I want to specialise in as a future nurse, and help research it more to help people, both sufferers of the disease and others around them – Tracy M
    • I pledge to be the upmost supportive professional person within my needs to support individuals with dementia and their care givers.
    • I pledge to be more supportive of individuals dealing with dementia either with a diagnosis or as a carer.
    • I pledge to show love and kindness to dementia friends and family. To always support them with all my abilities.
    • I promise to always empathise and try to understand the work and courage of the families and carers of dementia and be inspired by their commitment.
    • I pledge to make sure that the services I work/volunteer for whilst being a student nurse and as a qualified nurse and dementia friendly.
    • I pledge to try and understand dementia more and help people as much as I can by treating them as an individual.
    • I pledge to provide support well-being and a gold standard framework care service that will provide support for people with dementia and their carers. I also pledge to help provide knowledge and support to those affected by dementia.
    • I pledge to never give up on any person who asks or displays signs of needing or wanting help. With or without dementia, we deserve happiness.
    • I pledge to listen to any concerns or worries carer may have and try to offer support and help they need and where they can get it from.
    • I will do my very best to make a dementia sufferer comfortable and ensure that they maintain their independence.
    • I pledge to listen to all carers of dementia suffers during my nursing career.
    • I pledge to offer support to both patients and their carers and listen to all their needs.
    • I pledge to treat every person with dementia as an individual and be sympathetic to their needs.
    • Listen and have patience. Think of carers.
    • I promise to notice the carer of a person with dementia and give them time to share and talk.
    • I pledge to use what I learn on my course to help my dad.
    • I pledge to help support my local dementia unit more with volunteering.
    • I pledge to respect every person I meet with dementia not to judge and raise awareness.
    • I pledge to be open minded and raise awareness for dementia.
    • I pledge to support carers and to raise awareness of dementia.
    • I promise to understand that each person with dementia is still a person with feelings and emotions.
    • Be more patient, sympathetic and understanding towards patient and their carer.
    • I pledge to talk about dementia.
    • I pledge to openly discuss dementia with my friends and family, to ensure more people are aware of the condition and know that they can do to support each other through the hard times that may occur.
    • I pledge to be more attentive, caring more compassion. Do not treat them as someone who does not understand. Listen more and be more understanding towards people with dementia.
    • I pledge to support any person who is affected by dementia.
    • My pledge is to learn more about dementia, its affects etc and to remember to treat everyone as equal individuals.
    • Help my grandma more and visit more regularly.
    • I promise to remember the person exists with a dementia related illness, not just the illness a patient is a person first – Clare McGee
    • I pledge to gain a deeper understanding of the issues surrounding living with dementia, both those diagnosed with the condition and those who care for and love them, and to always treat those people with the understanding and respect they deserve – Alan Brown
    • I pledge to make sure my patients and members of the community including carers have access to the relevant support to help them. I pledge to keep an open mind. I pledge to listen to encourage independence and to create an environment where dementia is embraced and not ignored – Jessica Holdsworth
    • Support people, families and carers who have dementia or families of relatives who have dementia. Develop a bigger understanding of dementia, not enough people know about dementia and help people understand and be knowledgeable.
    • I pledge to be more supportive of cares.
    • I pledge to be more supportive and help out more to visit my partners Nan, and take her out more. I also pledge to help raise more awareness.
    • I pledge to raise awareness for dementia friends by telling as many people as I can about the talk and Tommy`s story and campaign.
    • I pledge to support and be aware of the needs of carers and dementia sufferers alike.
    • I pledge to have more patience and listen.
    • I pledge to understand that no 2 people with dementia are the same but that each individual needs an equally great amount of care. “To treat some equally can be to give them extra treatment”.
    • Expand knowledge on dementia and the care need to support the individual.
    • I will not treat anyone with dementia any different to any other person.
    • Better understanding to people who have dementia and how them and their families and friends cope and deal with it.
    • I pledge to raise awareness of dementia and Alzheimer’s in my local community and support them as much as I can.
    • Listen to them and help service users but also support family and friends.
    • I will find out what support there is in Preston, such as support groups. So that I can be informed enough to help signpost people to the right place.
    • I pledge to talk and communicate to the family/friend members. Ask how they are feeling, take that extra 5 minutes to talk to them about absolutely anything, along with the person suffering with the illness. Talk about how they are feeling, do they feel safer, the weather, Coronation Street etc.
    • I pledge to share on social media, the work of dementia friends, in order to raise awareness – Sarah Ham
    • I pledge to take the time to listen.
    • Understand/gain more knowledge on what dementia is.
    • Help my grandma more with my granddad by visiting him more, realising she’s not moaning it is difficult to look after him.
    • I pledge to raise awareness for people with dementia by telling people about it and how they can help.
    • I will care, listen and support people with dementia and their families.
    • Raise awareness about the illness in schools and centres so many people are aware.
    • I pledge to be more understanding about the effects of dementia and families coping with dementia.
    • I intend to be more understanding of the condition and have more time and patience with sufferers I come across.
    • I pledge to give more time and support for carers to be more understanding of everybody`s needs involved in dementia.
    • More support for carers.
    • I pledge to provide support for campaigns e.g. online, within the community. Ensure I speak to those who work/are affected by dementia. Pledge to the support for service users and providers, also families.
    • I pledge to always lend a hand and offer to help those who are looking lost of in need.
    • I pledge to listen to these people and carers. Smiles because a smile says a thousand words. Have patience and care. Don’t try and take over. Just be there and treat people like you would your own family.
    • I will tweet Tommy`s video and post it on Facebook to help raise awareness.
    • I pledge to treat everyone with dignity and respect – Claire Johnson
    • Understand and be patient.
    • I will listen and understand.
    • To listen to those who are carers. To try and befriend someone local who is a carer. I do know how it feels. I cared for my grandmothers who both had vascular dementia. Yes! It’s hard.
    • I pledge to take the time to listen to patients and their cares be patient, respectful and helpful.
    • I pledge to have patience, understanding and time for the patient and the family of those suffering with dementia.
    • As a dementia friend, I pledge awareness, listening, understanding and support to sufferers of dementia and their carers, friends and families in my future placements and career as a mental health nurse.
    • I pledge to help raise awareness around dementia through social media so more people can understand.
    • I pledge to raise awareness of dementia and the effects it has on the sufferer and their care/families.
    • I pledge to make sure I can raise awareness of dementia to help everyone! This is the people with dementia and their carers.
    • Go on walks to raise awareness.
    • I pledge to raise awareness about dementia especially that it is not anyone`s fault.
    • Take time out to talk to those around me, and listen to what they have to say, and their needs. My pledge to dementia.
    • I pledge that I am going to support the carers and families as well as those suffering by listening to their voices.
    • I pledge to get a better understanding and educate myself on dementia. Also help to raise awareness and offer support to anyone I come into contact with who had been/is being affected by dementia.
    • My pledge to people with dementia is to treat them as an individual with dignity and respect and to listen to what they have to say
    • To share my knowledge and experiences of dementia. – Promoting awareness.
    • I pledge to listen, understand and help them feel they are not alone, they can find comfort in talking even if I can’t sure them. I can make them feel comfy.
    • My pledge to people with dementia is to gain the ability to offer support to sufferers and family.
    • Listen more.
    • I pledge to do my best to make people more aware about dementia, including utilising my blog. I hope to help dementia sufferers and their families and cares in both professional capacity, but as a friend to – Donna
    • Help and support.
    • I pledge to take more time to make the people I know with dementia happy J
    • John – My pledge I am a dementia carer with my mum for my Nana.

 

Thank you Tommy,Irene, Sarah and Laura #teamDCV 🙂

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges, 'Viewpoint' Blog Posts
One comment on “Dementia Friends/We can make a difference session
  1. […] year around this time, Roz  gave a dementia friends presentation along with using some of our films invited Tommy to come along in person to speak about making a […]

Leave a Reply

