Teesside University Making a Difference

Dementia Carer Voices would like to say a massive thank you to everyone at the Safety in Practice Event at Teesside University yesterday . It has been so inspiring to read all of the pledges that people have taken the time to make, and it is a great privilege to share these with everyone today.

The attitudes and ambition of all of the students has been so positive, and it is fantastic to see the future of caring looking so bright! Thank you all for your commitment and determination to make a difference.

photo       photo 2

photo 3      photo 1

 

My pledge is to be a good, caring and kind hearted nurse and promote a positive care experience for all my patients – Rufaro Chivasa

My pledge is to help write the next chapter of the love story.  To make the difference – Caroline Hulme

To carry on caring, despite the resources – Wendy

My pledge is to always greet patients and carers with a smile and say “How can I help you?” – Emma Vellore

I pledge to listen, to take the time to learn and understand the situation from the patients and families perspective – Rachel Hughes

My pledge is to stop and think would I want my family treated in this way? Would I be happy with the quality of care I provide? – Eve Chapman

My pledge is to be more aware of impact of dementia on individuals and families and be ready to talk – Bernadette Wallace

My pledge is to always listen and take time to care – Sue Cook

My pledge is to communicate with carers to ensure nobody feels alone – Julie Sheen

My pledge is to strive to be the best nurse I can be.  To always be kind and compassionate.  To ensure I support everyone of my patients and their families – Siobhan Fairs

My pledge that I will always care in practice and continue the love story – Hannah

I pledge I will always see the person and not just the diagnosis and allow time for them to tell their story and get to know them – Stacey Burnam

I will always see the good in the person despite their attitude.  I will always see the bigger picture – Hannah

I pledge to always have time to listen, be kind and always be there for people when they are at their most vulnerable – Francesca

I pledge to always remember and remind colleagues that every experience in healthcare can be daunting for the patient even if it is part of our day to day work – support all individuals.

I pledge to take more time to get to know my patients and their families and carers – Stephanie 

I pledge I will take every opportunity to reassure carers of people with dementia what a fabulous job they are doing – Joanne

I pledge to make at least one difference to one person per day when in my nursing role.

My pledge is to demonstrate the best care delivery that I can and have patience for all patients – Chrissy Cox

My pledge is to never forget the person behind the illness regardless of the stage it is at.  To listen and care at all times – D.Willis

My pledge is to give the best possible care to every patient taking into consideration their individual needs going the extra mile for ever patient – Zoe Rowland

My pledge is to listen to what the patient needs or want help with, rather than telling them this is what I can do as I only have X amount of money and time – Melissa Ambrose

My pledge is to make a difference as a district nurse to treat people with respect and compassion – Jennifer Hutchinson

My pledge is to do my best, listen and do.  Be kind and be the difference and care – Michelle Hudson

Being a district nurse I can ensure I can influence my beliefs – Treat everyone as you would like to be treated.  Compassion – Vicky Birmingham

I pledge to always show empathy by putting myself in others shoes, attempting to understand their journey and experiences – Nicola Davies

I pledge to care for the person and not the illness.  Also to provide cares with support – Beth Cormack

I pledge to actually get to know my service users and what they are before commencing with their care plan – Enya

I pledge to always listen and be supportive to try my best to understand and deliver the best care I can give – Charlie Butterwick

My pledge is to always listen to my patients and their relatives and cares to better understand who they are so that I can provide them with the best possible care – Jonathan Hitchen

My pledge is to become a nurse that at least one patient/carer remembers for making a difference – Helen Huscroft

My pledge is to always take time to listen and find the person I’m caring for – Laura Thompson

I pledge to support patients, carers and their family as much as possible so they don’t feel alone and helpless – Amy Dodds

My pledge is to work with @stressdementia to make a difference/share the cares perspective of dementia – Mel Gannon

My pledge is to remember that the patient once had dreams and ambitions.

My pledge is to take time to discuss patient preferences with regards to food/nutrition with their cares so patients get food/snacks they like – Charlotte Morrison

My pledge is to make time to talk to cares and families and support their own `mental wellbeing` – Roz Hargreaves

My pledge is to ensure that teaching always follows upon listening and `hearing` patients of their families and enhancing their experience.  Thinking about how they feel and responding appropriately to deliver the best care – Jill Foley

My pledge is to go that extra distance to make people smile daily – Briony Holdsworth

As a district nurse to care for people how I would like (my family) or myself to be treated and always go the “extra mile” – Lyndsey

I pledge to remember everyone has their story – always care and always be kind – Allison

I pledge to treat patients with patience and compassion, looking for alternative ways to communicate – Heather McNicol

I pledge to always try to make a difference – Nick Baird

I pledge to always put myself in other people`s shoes and always listen to people in need, so I can help them to the best of my ability – Jess Knight

I will always see the person and not just the illness.  I will take the time to listen and try my best to make a difference to that person and family – Sam Carr

I pledge to always remember why I became a nurse.  To continue to improve and always remain patient centered – Annice Grundy

I pledge to always treat each patient as an individual and respect their families and cares.  Also to be understanding of all their needs- both patients and carers – Natalie Pillai

I pledge to see the person and not just their disease – Laura Arkless

My pledge is to give patients and their cares a chance to make decisions about their care and make them feel special – Kate Darby

I pledge to listen, support and comfort those in my care, promoting a positive patient journey that will result in a happy, smiling person – Shelley Cassidy

I pledge that I will care for my patients top the best of my ability in a way I would want my family to be cared for and to make my patients smile daily J

I pledge that I will always take the time to listen.

I pledge that I will care for my patients to the best of my ability and not be scared/worried about challenging practice.

I pledge that I will do my best to practice safely.

I pledge that I will listen to the carers/relatives to gain an understanding on how I can deliver the best care to their loved ones who are living with dementia.

I pledge that love and life stories will not be forgotten, and loneliness not accepted – Julia

I pledge that I will always have my patients at the front of everything and never at corners to make things easier for myself.

I pledge that I will always care and improve care as improvement can always be made!

I pledge that I will go the extra mile for my patients.

I pledge that I will always put safety first as a nurse.

I pledge that the person not the patient will always take precedence in the care that I give – Frances Vasquez.

I pledge to the best of my knowledge and experience to always carry out my role with care, compassion and courage, and to listen when patients communicate their needs.

I pledge that I will give my all and take the information I have learned.

I pledge that I will always listen and show compassion – Nicola Worrall.

I pledge that I will try my best to always be kind and compassionate.

I pledge that I will promote autonomy, treating everyone as an individual, respecting their choices, and protecting their rights and decisions.

I pledge to be the best nurse I can possibly be. I will aim to make a difference; even if it is a small one.

I pledge that I will make time to listen to individual’s problems, and do my best to help them solve their problems – Maria Myers

I promise to offer hope.

I pledge that I will always do my best and listen.

I pledge that I will always be a compassionate, caring nurse for as long as I am nursing.

I pledge that I will see the person with dementia as an individual who has lived their life from childhood, to falling in love, to having a family and growing old, to understand their story and how they would like to be cared for.

I pledge that I will uphold the value of the 6 Cs in all of my interactions with patients and family throughout my career.

I pledge that I will be caring towards all patients.

I pledge that I will always be aware of the safety of those in my care, my colleagues and myself.

I pledge that I will always take my own and others safety into account before my actions within practice.

I pledge that I will help make a difference within LD nursing and continue to care throughout my career.

I pledge that I will not take my registration for granted and continue to check policies around the interventions I deliver and ensure my career involves lifelong learning.

I pledge that I will always put my own worries and wants aside in the care of others to ensure their safety is put first.

I pledge that I will stand up for what is right, support others and practice as I have been taught.

I pledge that I will always put the patients first in their care.

I pledge that I will do my part to improve and maintain patient safety by providing care in line with policies and procedures and putting patients at the centre of care.

I pledge that I will make a difference.

I pledge that I will always have the best interest if patients and relatives in mind and to question anything I think is wrong.

I pledge to promote best practice and to ensure that I provide individuals with the support they need, and to promote dignity and respect.

I pledge that I will always put my patients at the forefront of what I do and put them first.

I pledge to give as much support to patients and their families; to ensure dignity and respect is given all the time.

I pledge that I will always do my best for my patients, their families and my colleagues at all times, under all circumstances to the best of my ability – KB

I pledge that I will help raise awareness of dementia, and provide patient centred care!

I pledge that I will always provide my patients with the best possible care, ensuring their needs are met and their families supported. I also pledge to expand my knowledge on dementia to ensure any future patients receive the correct care they need – R. Quinn.

I pledge that I will always work to the best of my ability with compassion and empathy.

I pledge that I will be the best nurse that I can be and treat all patients as though they are my family.

I pledge that I will support carers and people living with dementia to improve lives and experiences –David Hawkes.

I pledge that I will see the person not the dementia, and listen to their story.

I pledge that I will listen to the patient and their family as they are the experts. 1 person can make a difference – J Bullen.

I pledge that I will always act in the best interest of my patients and their families.

I pledge that I will support patients and their families/carers provide safe harm free care and remember them as a person and not their bed number. I will lead a safe practice and demonstrate this – Fran.

I pledge that I will be a kind, friendly nurse, who has the time to listen to patients and provide patient centred care.

I pledge that I will take the time to consider the perceptions of patients with dementia and their families/carers.

I pledge that I will provide support to patients with dementia as well as their family and carers and prevent people from feeling alone.

I pledge that I will always communicate well with patients and families, and be aware of dementia needs at all times, showing care, compassion and courage.

I pledge that I will listen to dementia patients and their carers/families, offering the best care and assistance as possible.

I pledge that I will always do the right treatment for the right person and putting my patients at the centre of every task. I will undertake this as a future nurse – Rahil.

I pledge that in my career I will pledge to make my patient/service user smile and laugh and try to enjoy the rest of their lives – Stephen Mussard.

I pledge that I will make a difference to all my patients.

I pledge that I will always try my hardest to make a difference.

I pledge that I will use the best of my ability to keep every patient safe from harm and give a positive experience.

I pledge that I will try my hardest to make a difference!

I pledge that I will always make a difference.

I pledge that I will be caring and compassionate and provide the highest standard of care throughout my future career.

I pledge that I will smile at every patient I come across and ask them what they want form me 🙂

I pledge that I will give my best and my all to every patient, carer and family I ever work with.

I pledge that I will never be too busy to listen and offer a shoulder to cry on if needed – Rebecca Ryan.

I pledge to provide patients and their families with their continued support and encouragement throughout my career – Beth Gibson.

I pledge to treat every patient as an individual with lots of respect, preserving dignity and growing trust. To also promote patient and family centred care – Samantha Cowley.

I pledge that I will always provide patient centred care!

I pledge that to help make a difference, to not forget the reason why I became a nurse and to become a better mother to my children – Laura.

I pledge that to remember small things can mean the world to a person – what makes them a person, strive to keep them at the centre – Ashley.

I pledge that I will remember to ask your favourite drinks, favourite activities. What makes things good for you and how I can support your family – Michelle Rimmer.

I pledge to always see the patient as an individual, to treat with care, respect and dignity.

I pledge that I will try my best to make a difference in my career ahead of me. To make a change in people’s lives and families, causing happiness, dignity, love, hope and ambition for all service users having a choice within patient centred care, always – Alice Smith.

I pledge that I will always respect people as individuals and take time to listen to them.

I pledge that I will be there for people and be the difference that people need in the most difficult of situations – Ami Laidlaw

I pledge that I will think about the person and their ‘story’ (life, hobbies, memories etc.) before their illness.

I pledge that I will listen to the needs and wishes of patients and their families.

I pledge to always give my best to my patients in care and support.

I pledge that I will not waver in my curiosity for life and learning – Laura.

I pledge that I will put the patient at the centre of care and listen to the views of families as they know the patient best – C Poulet.

I pledge that I will deliver individualised care, bearing in mind who the patient is, and the life that they have had/are living – S Mains.

I pledge that I will help to make a difference in every patient, carer and family’s life in which I come across.

I pledge that I will always put my patient’s safety first, including medication rounds.

I pledge that I will put patients first in their care, involving them in decisions and upholding their dignity at all times.

I pledge that I will treat every person I come across with dignity and respect, and as in individual doing the most I can to make their experience pleasant – Rosie Polasik.

I pledge that I will always do my best to ensure my patients have the best care possible and always treat them as individuals with compassion.

I pledge that I will try to see a person as an individual and not a person with dementia.

I pledge that I will listen, support and guide people within my care, promote a positive patient journey and give them my full attention – S Cassidy.

I pledge that I will understand and get to know the patient behind the illness to help provide individualised, quality CARE!

I pledge that I will listen and care trying my best to promote dignity, respect and patient centred care; to help all.

I pledge to see people for who they are and not their condition.

I pledge that I will listen to patients and their families to understand the patient’s needs, likes and dislikes etc, and advise them to make the patient feel at ease J

I pledge that I will always listen and understand my patients for who they are.

I pledge that I will put every patient at the centre of care I give, ensure they are listened to and that their questions are answered. Where I don’t have the answer I will find it. Ensure dignity and respect is shown at all times.

I pledge that I will make my patients my number one concern in practice and always ensure that I put them first.

I pledge that I will always take time to listen, be an advocate and treat others with dignity and respect and uphold autonomy.

I pledge that I will always consider the patient and family as more than just a patient, and see them for who they are.

I pledge that I will always take the time to get to know my patients – G Douglas.

I pledge to use opportunities in all aspects of my life to challenge loneliness and to highlight this as a need amongst those with dementia and carers especially. Rachel Doubleday.

 

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges
2 comments on “Teesside University Making a Difference
  1. Rachel Doubleday says:

    Please can you add my pledge to this inspirational wall? I was at the conference but didn’t get to complete a card:
    Pledge: to use opportunities in all aspects of my life to challenge loneliness and to highlight this as a need amongst those with dementia and carers especially.
    many thanks, Rachel Doubleday

Leave a Reply

