Wexham Park Hospital opens Sunflower Garden

Dementia Carer Voices’ own Tommy Whitelaw was very honoured to be invited to attend the opening of the Sunflower Gardens  at Wexham Park Hospital in Slough on Tuesday, before giving a ‘Make a Difference’ talk to staff in one of the lecture theatres later that day.  The new Garden was officially opened by Broadcaster Nick Knowles.

NK DS Keith and Tommy   tommy's talk

Dementia Carer Voices would like to say a big thank you to Claire Marshall, the Associate Director of Patient Experience, along with Mike Stone, the Fundraising and Volunteers Manager over in Wexham for all of their efforts to organise such a wonderful day, and such a wonderful garden. Thank you to staff at Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals for coming along to the talk, and for pledging to make a difference.

photo 2  photo with Nick Knowles

Tommy was also delighted to meet up with Karen, a great friend from Twitter, who has been supporting Dementia Carer Voices’ work for quite some time now. Tweets can make a difference!

The whole day was very inspiring – the garden, the people and the pledges we received.

A big thank you from all the team at Dementia Carer Voices.

 

I will look after my patients with care and dignity and be the best nurse I can – Jardine Jones

To share Joan and Tommy’s story via twitter and word of mouth so that everyone understands the importance of the love story and the need to care – Karen Maskell

I pledge to listen more; to help ensure people are safe; always recognise people by their names; to help to protect people’s dignity and respect – Edward Antwi

Don’t be afraid, we’re all here to talk, and listen to everyone who walks through that hospital door.

My pledge is to talk to all patients, treat them as individuals, make them feel noticed not ignored.

To organise healthcare workers and students in my church to care for affected patients and their families in the church and the community – Bennedicta Boakye

To listen, and to help relieve their fear – Claire Outhwaite

We should remember how people live, what kind of help they need and always have someone near them – Dorite

I pledge to treat people with love, care and understand them, to hear their sorrows and pain.

By treating everyone with the respect and dignity they deserve – Lynn Day

Spreading Tommy and Joan’s story to all the nurses I work with – Juliet Roberts

I will remember that the person is an individual, part of a family and part of a community. They have a story – Anne Owen

I pledge to treat everyone with dignity and respect and listen to not only them, but their family as well, and do so with a smile and not make them feel I’m in a rush – Melanie Milne

To listen and give reassurance. To help relieve the fear – Madina Rauf

I pledge to always speak to anyone with dementia saying hello and who I am to offer support and help. I also pledge to ask what they would want – G. C. Gherian

To listen and share not just patient experiences but carer experience. Most importantly – use it and learn from it to improve services – Emma Robinson

I would like to pledge to make a difference to my mother in law who has dementia – Melody Sills

Love the person for who they are – not their diagnosis – Dave Sills

I pledge to make a difference by treating every individual with compassion and my time.

To ask patients and their carers/families what I can do to help. I will make an effort to spend more time listening to my patients.

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

