Carers Week 9-15 June 2014

To mark Carers Week, last week was full of activities celebrating the fantastic job that carers do, and how to improve things for people with dementia and their carers.

Earlier in the week, Dementia Carer Voices was delighted to be invited to the International Conference on Dementia in Edinburgh which focused on improving the quality of care for people with dementia and their carers.

Tommy was also thrilled to appear on STV Glasgow’s Riverside Show to speak about the important role that carers play in the lives of people with dementia.

As part of the You Can Make A Difference Tour, Tommy was speaking to staff from NHS Ayrshire and Arran, who will be working with staff to help them fulfil their pledges.

Tommy was also excited to be invited down to the Central Borders to speak at a Borders Voluntary Care Voice event, who work to encourage more carers to get involved and have their voices heard.

We are delighted to have been a part of all of these events, so a big thank you to everyone involved in making these events so special. We can make a difference.

 

Pledges from this week:

 

I pledge to establish a “therapeutic shared space” day club/area for people and families baffled by dementia in Stirling.

I pledge to set up “Join Dementia Research” – Martin Rossor

My pledge is to return to N2 and keep the love story going.  Ask the questions! – J.Lona

As an individual I pledge to listen, to learn, to care and to find ways to support those within my community – Sandra Nicholas-Cole

I have in the past cared for my husband and mother both with dementia.  Since their deaths and during the time I cared for them I pledged to share any information I could to help anyone who was dealing with this too – May Boland

I pledge to take back your inspirational messages and hopefully make a difference in how me and my staff daily interactions first and foremost ask the questions – who are you, who were you and what can we do today – Jackie

I pledge to take a moment to think before I act – Linzie Eaton

I pledge to continue to fight to remove the stigma of working in dementia care in order to get passionate, motivated, educated staff into the services to give the best possible care – Yvonne Manson

I pledge to raise the awareness of the role of speech and language therapists with people with dementia and their carers – Joy Harris

http://givingvoiceuk.org/dementia

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in News

Leave a Reply

