‘You Can Make a Difference’ @ Glasgow City Council

 

IMAG0510

 photo

We had the opportunity to visit Glasgow City Council last Thursday (April 3rd) to speak to Councillors before their full council meeting about the ‘You Can Make a Difference’ campaign and tour.

Many thanks to Executive Member for Personnel, Councillor Matt Kerr for organising the event and to everyone who took the time to drop in for a chat and leave their own personal pledge to ‘make a difference.’ You can check these out below.

My pledge is to help people affected by dementia and to make sure they have all the support and care they require to live comfortable and fulfilling lives – Councillor Martin Neill

I pledge to make a difference by promoting active listening with our staff and their patients / carers in the delivery of person centred, compassionate care – John Stuart

I pledge to ask for and listen to the views of people with dementia and their carers whenever I am involved in taking decisions that could affect them – Councillor Mhairi Hunter

I would like to pledge my support – Councillor Graeme Hendry

I pledge to always remember how it felt to watch my own grandparents succumb to dementia, and honour them by working to ensure that every person with dementia, and every person who cares for them, receives care and support that respects and honours the people they are and the lives they’ve lived – Councillor Susan Aitken

I am keenly aware of the diverse needs of carer’s across a broad range of issues from dementia to long term conditions having been a carer along with my siblings at a very young age; I pledge to seek to understand the everyday needs of carers and those they support, to use that information to build my knowledge and that of this Council to improve services to carer’s, those they care for and the communities in which we all live” – Councillor Martin J Docherty

To listen to carers, and do what I can to make Glasgow City Council a model of support and respect – Councillor Gordon Matheson, Leader of Glasgow City Council

I pledge to listen to carers as they really know what is best for their loved ones – Lord Provost of Glasgow, Councillor Sadie Docherty

 

 

1

3

7

8

9

10

11

13

 

2

4

12

5

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges

Leave a Reply

