This week’s “You Can Make a Difference” Pledges

Many thanks to the staff of the James Cook University Hospital in Middlesbrough for their hospitality last Friday and to everyone who took the time to leave a pledge either online, or in person at one of our events within the last week.

James Cook Middlesbrough March 28th

Staff at the James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough 28/03/14

As a student nurse I pledge to raise awareness of my dementia knowledge in all my placements. Natalie Taylor

As a student nurse I pledge to do the little things that can make a big difference in someone’s care. Rebecca Vaughan

I commit to spending more time listening to carers when I am on the wards. I will ensure that I visit the wards during visiting at least once a week so that I can increase the likelihood of meeting carers and families.

As clinicians it is not enough to wait until carers and family are at breaking point to provide a listening ear, we need to endeavour to create opportunities to be there for carers and families to talk to us. Gina Warren

I pledge to work harder to make the place I work more dementia friendly by raising awareness with all staff. After hearing Tommy speak I just feel I want to do more. Helen Robinson

I pledge to take time to get to know my patient and their family’s needs to improve the patient experience and care. Donna Bowen

I pledge to take more time to listen. Annette Henderson.

 

Posted in "You Can Make a Difference" Pledges
2 comments on “This week’s “You Can Make a Difference” Pledges
  1. kairobeach says:

    Reblogged this on beached and commented:
    If you care about Dementia or people living with it then please follow and read Tommy’s story.

  2. Massive thank you http://kairobeach.wordpress.com/
    #makingadifference #spreadingtheword

Leave a Reply

